December 2006 - An Update


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq
December 13th 2006
Published: December 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Sweet "Little" Machine GunMy Sweet "Little" Machine GunMy Sweet "Little" Machine Gun

I love this gun. It's so much fun to shoot. Nevermind that carring it stink and I do a lot more carrying than shooting. Nevertheless, she's my baby.
Well, things don’t change much here in Iraq. All is going well with the war. We’re doing good things here. I can’t be specific, but things are going well. The work is long and hard. I just hope the Iraqi and the American public appreciate what we’re doing for these people.

It’s getting pretty cold here. I really didn’t expect it to get this cold. FOB life isn’t that bad, but living in the cold in the field for days on end can get pretty miserable. I have the greatest respect for my fathers and grandfathers and uncles in WWI, WWII, Korea, and Vietnam. The hardships we face today don’t compare to theirs. The paratrooper fighting through the bitter cold to crush the Nazis last ditch effort in the Battle of the Bulge has my greatest respect. God Bless those men for what they did.

One bit of news: I’ve got a “light” machine gun now. The term “ light is very relative. It’s quite heavy, but I love it. That is one area in which we far surpass our forefathers in arms. We carry more equipment into battle than they every dreamed of. On some missions, with body armor, rucksack, and other gear, I may carry 120 lbs everywhere I walk. You get used to it, and you just put one foot in front of the other and keep going.

More news: we moved out of the tents and into a real building. Before the war it was probably a very nice, small mansion. We jokingly call it the Taj Mahal. Rumor has it that Saddam used to entertain his mistresses here. Who knows? It’s pretty trashed now. Soldiers and marines have never been known for taking the best care of their living area. Regardless, it’s nice to have a real roof over my head and an actual room. I have a really cool roommate.

Laura and the girls are doing well, but give them a call and bug them. They would always love to hear from you - especially around Christmas. I posted a few more pictures for you all.

Merry Christmas,
Tony





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

HomeHome
Home

Pardon The Mess - If you only knew how uncleanably dirty the carpets are you wouldn't notice the mess. All around though it's a nice place. We've got a lot of space.


24th December 2006

Weather
Hi Tony: The weather is a big factor that folks that have not been there done that cannot possibly understand. North Korea winters has many days sub temps to -35% : Spring very wet and summer triple digets. My group got to stay in a house 3 days one time: That was it for me in my 14 months in Korea, but My machine crew bulit some mighty fine fox holes that kept us dry warm and comfortable. You got 36 moisture managment t=shirts on the way want your group to take what you want and need and pass rest on. God Bless Take care !!! Later Grampa
24th December 2006

:)
it doesnt look like you have too many inspections in your bunker! 10-4 solider
26th December 2006

Needed Items
Tony and Friends: Can someone please give me an address to mail a package to him. Also can you please tell me anything and everything that you need or can use? Potter
28th December 2006

Potter - Address and Needed Items
Peppered Flavor Beef Jerky is most coveted snack item around here. Other salty snacks that keep well (like trail mix) are great. We get more sweets and baked goods that we can eat, so we don't need any of those. Other than that, check my page on www.AnySoldier.com for more ideas. Thanks, and good to hear from you Potter. By the Way, the address is posted in one of my earlier posts on this site and on anysoldier.com
30th December 2006

Poggy Bait is On the Way
Son; I did not send Poggy Bait but I sent everything else that remained on the list. Anyway, incoming! Dad

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb