Iran and unislamic sexy Hot Pink! (X)


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran » South » Shiraz
May 5th 2007
Published: May 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Rose mosqueRose mosqueRose mosque

It's a cute shade of Pink!;)
Could you tell me what colours pop into your mind when you hear about Iranian mosques? Quick! Well, I noticed too that most of my earlier photos are full of blues (dark, turquoise, many other tones). I assumed that there was some kind of colour rule in existence since the introduction of Islam in the Persian Empire. After all, I to my relief I didn't see any domes that shared an intricate colour pattern with my mother's Picasso print sweater from back in the 80s. Ouch.

The Nasir-al-Mulk Mosque, or rather the 'Rose Mosque' as it is nicknamed in Shiraz is an unusual architectural masterpiece due to the generous use of coloured tiles, especially...PINK. Out of all blooming colours, they chose a cute shade of pink to dominate its appearance, with patterns of roses (one of the highlights of the city). Well, I know that the old women and Barbie would approve, but wasn't this a bit over the top for a mosque??? For a fact, flowers and shades such as red aren' acceptable...

What, it doesn't have a dome either! The first Muslim Arab invaders would have freaked out for sure, but even religious architecture in Iran
Rose mosqueRose mosqueRose mosque

A view from the inner courtyard
stuck to their roots without hesitance. So the Mosque was commissioned for by a noble of the Qajar dynasty and created in 1888. Accompanied with large stained-glass windows, the structure must be as colourful as Georges Seurat's wooden palette.
The detailed images of flowers and vases are in reference to Zoroastrian symbology, as well as the lively colours in general. there are so many of them that I could say they can beat those rose wallpapers from European villas handsdown by far. Oh, and I heard one of the ladies saying she wanted a similar print for her wall to my alarm. Wow, I don't know if I'd want to see my bedroom looking like one from the bloody Versailles balanced with my ikea furniture.

To follow up, we visited the citadel of Karim Khan, built during the Zand dynasty in the 18th century. Tall walls surround the old residence which is nicely equipped with its private hamam and other five-star facilities. The museum had even set out elaborately dressed manequins in one of the rooms...that felt like being in Madame Toussauds or something along those lines, just replace the wax figures of the Jolie-Pitts with, you know, Zand
Rose mosqueRose mosqueRose mosque

Being silly in the inner courtyard...as usual
nobles. hmmm.

The Military Museum, built in the middle of the Afifabad gardens. There were soldiers everywhere and photography was forbidden in doors for obvious reasons (they had a fancy display for arms and weaponry...my jaw dropped)...umm I'm just going to shut up. Oh! but the gardens were really beautiful, full of flowers and a villa from the Zand era!😉

And off to the hotel. Where back in my room I watched al-jezeera and a bunch of German-accented guy called Wolfgang telling me how hot restaurants in Istanbul are lately...leaving me with that bloody song 'Istanbul not Constantinople' piping about in my brain for the entire day to my dismay.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Rose mosqueRose mosque
Rose mosque

Stained glass windows!
Rose MosqueRose Mosque
Rose Mosque

The rhythmic repetition of columns in the main hall
Karim Khan citadelKarim Khan citadel
Karim Khan citadel

smack bang in the middle of Shiraz
Karim Khan citadelKarim Khan citadel
Karim Khan citadel

the work above the entrance looks rather cute in a picturebook kind of way
Karim Khan citadelKarim Khan citadel
Karim Khan citadel

Inside the walls
Karim Khan citadelKarim Khan citadel
Karim Khan citadel

too large to take a better pic:(
At the military museumAt the military museum
At the military museum

Ouuu, pose before the guard comes back...damn couldnt get a pic of the tanks
The villa The villa
The villa

Now used as part of the military museum
Rose MosqueRose Mosque
Rose Mosque

The signature column hugging


6th May 2007

I wish I could have a Japanese wife
I am serious,to be honest I have few interest to what you talking about,but I forcing myself to read over your writing, just because I have a curiosity to Japanese girls. they are mystery for me. So I must keep myself on reading through all what she talking about. Above all, I*you.(you may know what I say) keep well.little secret.
7th May 2007

Haha nice strategy man, very honest of you, it just might work :P

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0132s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb