Sat. on the Weekend


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran » North » Tehran
January 15th 2011
Published: February 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

SatJan15 – Shanbe

Well, I will keep the long details out of this day’s events. Suffice to say, I went terribly awry picking Reza to be my CS host. I will be much more careful in future. Consequence of this mistake was one long wasted Shanbe in Tehran.

One thing of real value learned this day was how to grapple with taxi drivers over fares; the other was how to make use of the Tehran metro. This is clearly the cheapest means of getting around and it costs only about $1 per trip!!! Why use a taxi, except perhaps when lost?

With ease of travelling with the metro now in hand, I make my way to the Bazaari district and then on to Golestan Palace; unfortunately, while this is a cheap tourist site, only 33,000IRR, the Ivan-e Takht-e Mamar mirror fronted hall with throne room is not open to the public – quelle domage!

I meet up with 2 other ‘mosafers’, or travellers, also carrying the same Lonely Planet, Iran. Alice is from Toronto, an Ontario government pool department employee and James, all I understood, was he is an Englishman simply out and about. I learn that Alice is headed to India for a wedding in March. Funnily, I believe she was actually proposing leaving Tehran today for Isfahan though she had only just arrived in town?

Back at the Atlas later that day, I take it a little easy, not an uncommon occurrence during my travels.

Got drunk on non-alcoholic beer, of late my only vice during my stay in Iran. (Oh, it snowed that night in Tehran.)



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb