Day 33 - Bahrain


Advertisement
Bahrain's flag
Middle East » Bahrain
April 19th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Augusta, Kai, and I started out the day by going to the Grand Mosque. However, the Grand Mosque does not allow visitors in that are wearing shorts. So, we put this off for another day.

We then went to the mall to grab a bite to eat. After that we headed off to the Souq to pick up my suit.

When we got to the little shop I tried on the jacket and it fit very well. Everyone at the shop was very friendly. Also, they said that should I want to order another suit, I just need to tell them my number and they can make any other suit based on the measurements they have on file. Pretty cool, methinks. Augusta and Shawn said they could also ship it over pretty cheap through the base.

Walking back to the car I was offered a mosque clock and a stuffed camel by the same guy (certain items get popular in the Souq where it seems like every other store is pushing one item… right now mosque clocks and stuffed camels are ubiquitous).

At home, I tried on the whole suit with the dress shirt and thought it looked good. Augusta and Shawn both thought so, as well. Probably fits and looks better than any other suit I’ve had before.

For the evening, we watched “Fun with Dick and Jane”, which is kind of an offbeat comedy about a couple that loses everything in relation to a huge corporate scandal at the company Dick works at… none of it his fault. When they hit rock bottom financially they resort to crime - which they toe the line carefully with so as not to color Dick and Jane in a negative light. Overall, it was a very funny movie and kind of a message for modern times. And at the very end it gives special thanks to all of the recent corporate crooks that, I guess, inspired the film and then lists them off by name and the companies they worked for.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Building Next to the Grand MosqueBuilding Next to the Grand Mosque
Building Next to the Grand Mosque

I'm not quite sure what this building is...
Augusta and Kai: Leaving The Grand MosqueAugusta and Kai: Leaving The Grand Mosque
Augusta and Kai: Leaving The Grand Mosque

I had shorts on so we had to leave without the tour. Augusta said I looked like a Western man-whore... and then I cried. :)
The Tailoring ShopThe Tailoring Shop
The Tailoring Shop

They are the ones that made my suit, and it turned out very well. If I were walking along and came across it, I probably wouldn't think much... but it was highly recommended by one of Shawn's co-workers (Joel), and it turned out very well (I even had them make me a dress-shirt to fit).
A Bridge in BahrainA Bridge in Bahrain
A Bridge in Bahrain

This bridge leades out to the airport and Muharraq. We were in a moving car so the photo came out kind of blurry.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb