Day 5 in China - She's all ours


Advertisement
Bahrain's flag
Middle East » Bahrain
January 30th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We went back to the Civil Affairs office today and made the adoption final. By 10:20 we were back at the hotel and she is officially ours. She went in the pool today, she's still deciding if she likes the water but she looked so cute in her tiny baby swim cap. All the workers at the hotel and restaurants love the fact that we have her, they smile at her and give her and the boys lollipops and attend to her every need, her spoon doesn't even hit the floor when we are in the restaurant and a new spoon is placed before her. We have two more days of sightseeing in Hefei and then leave Friday for Guangzhou. The boys are madly in love with her - as I fed her, Nick stood on one side and wiped her mouth and Zach stood on the other side and wiped that side of her mouth. She's making great progress already, she mimics us and now knows how to push the button on her toys. She laughs alot (alot of the other babies don't) and she figured out really quickly that if she cries we all come running. She slept 10 hours last night and only woke up because we were all making noise around her (trying to wake her). She awoke to 5 heads peering in her crib smiling at her, amazingly enough she didn't cry. She eats everything in sight and loves cheerios. We can't wait for everyone to meet her.

The Boys and Eric walked around downtown Hefei today. It is a city of 4.6 million people and is relatively poor. The difference between the rich and poor is dramatic. On one block there will be run down, dilapitated buildings and both adults and children panhandling in the streets, while on the next block they are building a new high rise appartment complex. Crossing the roads remains a challenge - its a lot like playing Frogger, only we are really the frogs and the cars, bikes, rickshaws all appear to be trying to run us over. Almost everyone looks at, or even stares at us, and several people including a police guard has stopped to ask if all three of the boys are ours. It is very unusual to have three children (now 4!) in China, let alone 3 boys.

Julie thanks for letting mom see the pictures and what we wrote. Linda, sorry about the brownies and give Guth hugs for us. We will have more tomorrow. Thanks for everyone's comments we love getting them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



30th January 2007

A History Lesson
It's like a History Lesson about China everyday. Paul and the kids can't wait to come home and check the blog to learn more about China. It feels so 1st hand! Hannah looks so beautiful and happy - enjoy her and the rest of your trip. We look forward to the updates every day! Can't wait to see more. Lisa
30th January 2007

more pictures of hannah please!
Hi everyone, I'm over at Becky's house today and she brought me to the dog park with Nellie. I think I like Becky better than Linda because she gives me many hugs and kisses. I did poop in her living room and eat some costume jewelry, but she doesn't care. I especially liked her cashews on the counter. Everyone tells me I look beautiful after the groomers. You have to send more pictures of Hannah, because Ira has many more on his blog of his baby! Miss you all tons, love Guthrie
30th January 2007

We are so happy for you guys:):)
So so happy that she's finally yours! We know you've waited for a while, but are sure it's worth it<3 We can't wait to meet her---Jordan will be very excited to have a playmate!!
30th January 2007

Precious!
What a fantastic journey, with the best part coming in the middle- Enjoy the rest of the trip, all the relationships and great memories you're making and sights you are seeing- Hannah will love viewing the blog over and over as she grows up, and when she's a married ol' great-grandma. Safe trip home too-
30th January 2007

Favor
Forgot to ask- can you post a pic or two of a dish you've ordered?? Love, Ruth
30th January 2007

She is so beautiful!! We are so happy for all of you and cannot wait to meet her. The kids and I look forward to receiving your news everyday. The pictures have been amazing!!! You're in our prayers. love, John, Jennifer, Casey, Jack and Shane
30th January 2007

Congratulations
I absolutely love your blog. I am so excited for all of you, what an experience of a lifetime. By the way, my parents favorite meal in China was called beggars chicken. It is chicken wrapped in some type of leaves then wrpaaed in caly and baked. My guess is it beats the rice and pig liver, maybe even the cheerios as well. I will be following your progress daily and really look forward to meeting Hannah. By the way you know that you can now make a sequel to the famous Woody Allen movie, yes Hannah and her brothers. Sorry very lame
30th January 2007

OHMIGOD
OHMIGOD - is it possible for Hannah to get more beautiful by the day??!! Miss you Miss you Miss you PS Pretty sure Linda's the one who ate all the brownies!! OXOXOXOX
30th January 2007

Ya
I don't know if my comments have been getting through but I just saw the pictures today and they are cool. You are soo lucky you got to go to China and I am so jelous. Have a fun time wherever you are going next. I wonder if you are going to Tokyo? :) hehe Nick
30th January 2007

She is Beautiful
What a smile. I am so thrilled for all of you. We miss you. Looking forward to meeting the newest Awtry. Love, Kerry
31st January 2007

Don't get squished!
I love the frogger comparison, but be careful!! No accidents or mishaps or even hangnails - you have far too precious a cargo (all four kids!) with you over there. It's baby news all over these days - my best friend at home is in the hospital getting ready to have twins, but I wonder if they could possibly be as cute as little Hannah. She seems to have a giant entourage awaiting her homecoming, but keep in mind we want to be part of the welcome wagon, too! Love to all 6 of you, from Cord and Heather
31st January 2007

uuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
I was wondering if in China if the weather is cold becasue it has been pretty cold here. My dad is not really that excited about your sister but my sister thinks it is kinda sweet. I hope you are having fun going to all the places that you are going to becasue I am really bored here with school and homework and I have nothing to do so I am just talking alot on this blog sssssssseeeeeeeeee really long so ya have fun with Hannah-a.k.a. Lan-Lan I guess?
31st January 2007

wow wow wow
Amazing - congrats! love the blog. look forward to the next update
31st January 2007

Hi everbody! The cats are doing great but Tori won't share the couch with me. I am going to miss them when they go home. I miss my little boys because I know how far away they are. It will be nice to have all of you back with new little Hannah with you. I love all of you waiting for your return. Love, Mimi
31st January 2007

We had Mimi over to see her new granddaughter and of course she thinks she looks just like Kyle. She sure misses the boys and her daily phone call from Kyle but was so excited to see the pictures of Hannah. Love to all of you, Roddy and Julie.
31st January 2007

She's beautiful
Awtrys! She's beautifual and really does complete your family. How blessed you all are! What an awesome trip for you all. see you soon, R. L. J. M.
31st January 2007

Baby Awtry
How beautiful and sweet looking Hannah is!!! It is so special that you guys have opened up your home and hearts to this precious little girl. It's as if she already knew her future. Why else would she be progressing so quickly, smiling and grabbing onto her new life with such gusto. We can't wait to see you all together and I know Mom is beyond herself with happiness. Remember, Kyle, you were the kid who marveled at every gift at Christmas, stating, "Just what I always wanted", regardless of the size or thought that went into it. Now, you really do have something else you always wanted --your wonderful boys along with this little girl ----Congratulations guys. Our love and thoughts are with you. Enjoy the remainder of your trip.
31st January 2007

She is the cutest!!!
We are soooo excited for you all. Hannah looks so happy. We love getting the pictures of your family . We can't wait to meet Hannah and to see you all when you get back. Have a great vacation. Sharon, Paul, John and Allyi
31st January 2007

Hingham
Loved the picture of Hannah with a big smile. We like the sightseeing pictures, but really only care about hannah and want to see more pictures of her. Can't wait til you all are home. The Hills, Coby and Guthrie
31st January 2007

Hey from hingham
I really like the rickshaw buggy, oh yeah and Hannah is cute too!
31st January 2007

She's Beautiful!!!!!!
Guys, Julie sent me the address today. I can't tell you how happy we all are for you! Hannah is beautiful. Can't wait to meet her and hold her. I think Em wants first dibs though! Another one for the easter egg hunt! I'll tell Mom and Dad that they need to buy more eggs!!!!! Have a great time, love to all the family. Extra kisses to Hannah! Safe journey home. Kel, Mike, Em, Connor and Rowen...
31st January 2007

Weeping...
Well I should thank both of my sisters Julie and Kelly for sharing this as I am now at work on a Wednesday morning crying like a baby while reading your awesome story! My cube mates are ooohhhing and ahhhhing over the pictures as I fill one kleenex after another (sorry but true!). What an amazing world we live in that this one lucky lady found such a neat family to love her for the rest of her life! I can hardly wait to hold her but know that I will need to stand in line. Your pictures are amazing (as I see through the tears!). Have a safe trip home. XOXO Hannah! Kathy
31st January 2007

More pictures
Looking forward to your next entry........love to see more pics of Hannah and her brothers. Kerry, Brian, Pat and Aidan
31st January 2007

How is China
How is Hannah doing? How is China? Have you seen the pink dolphins or the bigggest restaurant inthe world? Are you really doing your journal everyday? Hopefully you will be back for the hundreth day of school. Now I am the only kid in 5MA that goes to math plus. Andrew
31st January 2007

best days still to come...
a huge congratulations to you and the gang. looking forward to meeting the new addition. have as much fun as you can in china! the US is looking forward to it's new citizen awtry.
31st January 2007

Hi! How is China? How is Hannah? You missed Colonial Day, but we saved you quill pens! Well enjoy China!
31st January 2007

hi how is china? Your little sister is so cute.That is so nice of your family to do that.Was it a a long trip?I dont think I could go that long on a plane.Good luck coming home. I cant wait to see your little sister!bye

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb