Bahrain May 07 (Blog 7)


Advertisement
Bahrain's flag
Middle East » Bahrain » Manama
May 28th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Boat tripBoat tripBoat trip

Me, Naomi and Carolyn at the front of the boat on our way to Scuba / Snorkel at Kuber Island... Kuber is a tiny island in the middle of the Arabian Gulf towards Iran - I don't think we strayed into Iranian waters though... )

So, my last trip before leaving Kuwait this year was to Bahrain... The home of Michael Jackson, a grand prix track which takes up half the island and many far eastern ladies of the night..... I can't remember so much of the weekend. I didn't even sleep at the hotel I booked a room in - a proper UK style random night. I think the club we ended up in was called F1 and had a Phillipino thrash metal band playing.... I live for such odd moments )

Bahrain is an unashamed middle eastern party island (just off Saudi Arabian Coast) - problem is that it is people from the Middle East that are there partying. Now, that sounds slightly harsh, but people from the Middle East just don't 'do'party at all... They do overly sweet tea and air conditioning.... )

So, I thought that this is a good time to reflect upon the last 9 months or so since I arrived on this Oil field which has become very close to feeling like home.... Have literally been here that long - that's not mean't to sound regretful though - I have really enjoyed my year!!!

I
HustlerHustlerHustler

Me and Mal hustling the Middle Eastern Pool Sharks.....
think perhaps I have travelled more in these 9 months that I perhaps would have done in 4 years if I had stayed in Sussex. That, alongside money, is fundamentally what I came here to do - so feel quite proud looking back with that perspective. The list is becoming almost impressive:

Dubai

Oman,

Qatar (Abu Dhabi)

Jordan

India (Goa)

Bahrain

Plus, I will be adding Indonesia (Bali) and Malaysia to my list this summer. Well, I am due just to stop over in Malaysia to connect flights, but I think it should be quite easy to extend for a few days there! I will see how much $ I have left after my surf trip to Bali ends...

On reflection Kuwait was probably a very good decision. I am happy that I have renewed my contract next year too, as there is a lot more for me to see in the region. However I think that after next year I will be looking to head east - perhaps Manilla or Jakarta - who knows.... I would welcome any advice on this issue, or perhaps you might just want to chuck a
STOP!!STOP!!STOP!!

Haka dance fails to stop the sun rising again....
dart


Things I would not have done in the UK that stand out thus far:

-Cooked fresh seafood all the time

-Risked death every time I get into a car

-Almost mastered the home made production of different beverages

-Saved lots of £ (hopefully enough to prompt another dabble into the Hastings property market)

- Perspective and clarity (Ok, that one is just pretentious)

-Saw Petra (Wow)

-Swam in the Dead Sea

-Hung out in a 5 Star Health Resort

- Had a 10 week summer holiday (yes, 70 days in a row - PAID - not to mention all the other beautiful islamic holidays. Also, being an English school we must also observe repectful holidays for Easter, Christmas and the sacred half terms etc too) Literally - the best of both worlds!!!

Also, I have included in this blog some lost pics from Oman (found Carmel's memory stick at last) as well as any other random pic I have taken and not included before.

This is the most random blog I have put together so far. Everything's a bit messy, I guess as I haven't really
MorningMorningMorning

That's a pretty amazing wake up view.... There's a slight difference to hasting's beach!
done


So, to conclude, I am in Bali from June 28th - July 26th, then, depending on if I stop in Malaysia, am back in UK until 29th August. Ne one up to anything fun or mad in that time let me know!!!!

Hope all is cool with everyone. Keep all the messages coming etc..


Matt )


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Hard Life...Hard Life...
Hard Life...

Oh, the primitive life of a traveller. Just some Fosters, Red Wine, spicey cheese, a utopian beach and a tent that Millets ould be almost proud of.....
Me and Pete in BahrainMe and Pete in Bahrain
Me and Pete in Bahrain

Start of the evening in Bahrain - it got very messy after this.... Pete's getting married in the summer in Thailand - so this w-end was almost like his Stag do...
RaceRace
Race

Rich beats me in the battle of Messilah Aqua Park. He couldn't accept that he only won because he was fatter than me.(Rich = left , me = right)
Drama StudioDrama Studio
Drama Studio

My little basement studio where I teach.... Almost quite homely if you forget about the black walls and the lack of windows... )
The PalmsThe Palms
The Palms

The sea part of my healthclub - I get strange looks when I swim in the sea though - something about oil spills or something...
Album CoverAlbum Cover
Album Cover

4R learning the value of pretentious surreal posing... )
Healthclub Pic 1Healthclub Pic 1
Healthclub Pic 1

Where I laze and rest most afternoons after school.... Hard life!!!
OILOIL
OIL

Wow, that's a scary amount of oil.... Always ponder what Kuwait would be like if it hadn't discovered oil. Would it be happier / humbler or just poorer???


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb