Curiosity killed the cat - Satisfaction brought her back…


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
October 23rd 2005
Published: October 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today I went to the Papal Mass with some of our group. I’ve always been interested in learning more about the Catholic Church, since my grandmother and a lot of my family was/is Catholic. I had always wanted to go to a mass with my grandmother, but I never took the chance. So I decided that I had to go to the Papal mass. The service was outside, in St. Peter’s Square…and every bit of it was packed. The Pope canonized five saints, which is pretty important, and it doesn’t happen very often, so a lot of the visitors were from the countries of the saints. We were surrounded by a very spirited bunch from Chile. With all the people doing cheers before mass began, it wasn’t at all like I had expected. But the crowd became more reverent when the procession started. Most of the service was in Latin, though some of it was in Greek and some in Italian…three languages I don’t happen to speak. I had so many questions…about the Pope and about the service and about the canonization and about miracles and about everything. Dr. Quinn and his wife, and one of the humanities girls, were all very nice about answering my questions and helping me understand what was going on. I wasn’t trying to annoy anyone and I know I wasn’t the only one who didn’t understand; I’ve just always been very interested…and I would rather learn than be there and not know. After mass, Pope Benedict went to the Papal apartment and greeted the crowd through the window. It was a very nice Sunday morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Pope Benedict XVIPope Benedict XVI
Pope Benedict XVI

...i wonder what he thinks about...


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb