The Ancient City!


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
October 21st 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Quiet RomeQuiet RomeQuiet Rome

plaster coloured walls....on the main street...but imagine it to be all quiet..........so nice!
Back in Italy,
went to this hostel I emailed but they didn't have my booking!!! ended up sleeping on a matress in the common room for the first night.......and the next day they said they have 2 more nights booked for me. OK.

The place was cool with satalite TV! haaaa.....
So the next day had to wake up early to give make the room available for breakfast, so I headed out early to start walking around Rome. It was FREEEEZING!!! ><"

walked around the Colosseum........and the ruins in that area...
then walked over to Transtevere to go to the marketplace....long walk but passed through a lot of quiet local neighbourhood! very cool. I like the style here...so mediteranean....colourful....old...but cute at the same time!
Although, the place can get a little dirty.....traffic a little crazy...and lots of...weird people around that made it look a little unsafe at times....but all was fine=)
Went to the market and it was basically, the street markets in HK!!!!! selling really cheap stuff.....a nice jacket for 10 euros!!! I regret not buying it now espeically its SO COLD these days! haaaaa!!!
Lots of food.....and random electronics....like ShamShuiPo.....but...surprisingly, they didnt have adapters for sale!! WTH....><"

Anyways, that street was long and took a while, got a porchetta panini...very nice fastfood here!!!!=9

Then headed over to Vatican City!
the walk there was ok, full of African people selling SuperA designer brand handbags and Chinese people selling scarfs....haaa..

Got to Vatican and WOW...St. Peter's Basillica is huge! the Sq was very grand......
there was a long queue to get into the Church though, but well, its a must-do! haaaa...
Got inside....and....actually...didnt give me the wows....it was huge..a lot of nice artwork around...but....I really liked the Church in Sevilla more still....haaaa!!!
Anyways, Intersting that there are no seats set up for mass inside the church, all the seats are outside in the square!
Anyways, The church was ok, I didnt go to the museums coz it was getting late walked around, and then headed back to Piazza Navona...which was....interstingly, touristy. Many street artist..and many people sang in front of the cafes and restaurants! This one guy sang really good...really good.

Anyways, nice fountains and statues there..the main one under construction.........oh well.
Then was gonna head to Fountain Trevi...but ended up....walking along the shopping street...
irrisistable fashion shops...HAAAAA...went in....tried on some really nice stuff but....so
In shades...In shades...In shades...

finally, my eyes are not swelling as much and can put on my contacts so I can wear shades to hide it!!!!
$___$!!!!!!!!!!
Argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Finally got to the fountain after dark and wow!!!! it was crowded!!!!! and I only see Asians making wishes in front of it! HAAAAAAAA!!!! All day walking...so headed back to the hostel.

So, when I got all ready, showered and everything, having dinner and the girl informed me...MY BED IS GONE! WTF?!?! They didnt really book me in!!!!! SO MAD!!! They got me into this other hostel....but still......ARGH!!! so I had to change and pack...and move to another hostel. got to Backpackers Hostel...Its a smaller one...nice...except no TV. Thats ok. Its closer to the train station....so I guess thats a plus!^^
Finally got a stable bed to sleep...=)


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

marble carvingsmarble carvings
marble carvings

they are so coool...
these two ruins columns..these two ruins columns..
these two ruins columns..

they were just catching my attention in that area all the time!
Who is this?Who is this?
Who is this?

coz this statue..I like it! He's wearing a cape with a hooood!^^
The Porchetta....The Porchetta....
The Porchetta....

GOOOOOOOOD one!!!=9
Holy moment..Holy moment..
Holy moment..

haa..love the lights..
Piazza NavonaPiazza Navona
Piazza Navona

Look who is there?? Statue of Liberty! HAAAA!! and also a big Brazilian Flag....
St Peter's BasillicaSt Peter's Basillica
St Peter's Basillica

Grand Cathedral...but I still like those with the Gothic towers more.......
I looked keyed-on......I looked keyed-on......
I looked keyed-on......

maybe I am such a bad Catholic........haaa!
Fountain TreviFountain Trevi
Fountain Trevi

nice with the lights!! =)


Tot: 0.392s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb