Nearly off on my journey!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Swansea
June 21st 2005
Published: June 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am still in the process of preparing my trip. There are 5 whole days left now, and two of those will be in work, probably discussing (See: bragging) to my friends and colleagues how much I am looking forward to going there. I know there are people who think that this idea is very superficial, and I'm not naming any names, but mum you are wrong 😉 I guess my idea to travel the world would be best started on a cheaper, easier and safer place such as New York, Boston and DC. I say safer, but I know that there are people out there who want something for nothing and aren't afraid to use violence to get it, but this happens everywhere. The only real safe place I know would be my own home because that's where I am comfortable with in regards to knowing the area and where the bad parts are. This shouldn't mean that I avoid travelling though. I say easier because the route between NY and London has been travelled so many times by a lot of the population that they have dramatically reduced the average fair for a 7 1/2 hour journey through the skies. I say cheaper for that very reason.

I'm sorry to have started off this with a boring paragraph about being responsible but I want anybody who reads this to know that I am a responsible person and will look after myself wherever I go. I have taken advice from everyone who can offer it, be they an author, a forum poster or a friend or family member. I shall not be defeated!

And so back on to the topic of my trip. It all begins on the 27 June. At 8:30 AM I will hopefully be leaving on a Boeing 777 towards JFK airport to arrive at 10:55 local time. From there it will be a case of taking the super shuttle to Manhattan or if that is unavailable, a taxi ride to my hostel. After dropping off my luggage in a safe place, it is then off to meet my friend somewhere in New York. I will email him to ask him where he is shortly before I leave on Sunday night/Monday morning. Then it will be the rest of the day discovering the overly publicised city of New York. Eating and browsing will not be a problem. I can't really go into too much detail, because then there would be no point in updating this! So I leave it here for now and hope that the first part of my journey goes well.

Bon Voyage (To Me)
Russ

Advertisement



23rd June 2005

Nice one!
Sounds fun :D See you when you get back! I'll be moved house by then!
28th June 2005

Where the hell is your second log!? (only joking) mind you, i am checking this every half hour and its getting boring! i've been up all night, have you been mugged already? (told you not to take your camcorder out) cant wait for an update! hope your having fun, but i guess you're not as NY is sooooo superficial lol x
30th June 2005

Im really glad that youre enjoying NY, it sounds pretty amazing. One could almost say that Im jealous of your trip but dont tell anyone as you know my feelings on America. Keep sending us the logs as they are brilliant and I look forward to reading them, hey I can now use the computer pretty well. I rode the dream horse today as they delivered him last night, he was well worth the wait and I adore him already. Anyway Russ, stay in regular touch, stay safe, and have tons of fun - you are a legend and I am immensley proud of you lol mum and the gang

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb