a proper winter


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Powys » Welshpool
January 7th 2010
Published: January 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's been really cold here for at least 2 weeks, minus numbers quite a lot of the time. And on Tuesday night it was our turn for snow, a real blizzardy snow, which covered eveything in a 7 inch blanket and looks like a christmas card. Fine if you don't need to go anywhere. Thousands of schools are closed, and the roads are very quiet. My car is snuggled under its white blanket at the top of the drive, Alex's is at the bottom. he went to dig it out just now, then found it won't start, so he's waiting for a neighbour with jump leads to help - then a new battery I daresay. I managed to squeeze my ankle into wellies today, so once the car starts, we can go down to see Mum and Dad. Though now they have skype, at least we can "see" dad!

Am listening to the test match in South Africa - they don't dare mention the weather, though apparently the breeze is chilly today! No doubt you're all too hot in NZ and Australia, I hear it hasn't rained for ages. Well, we can't all have it at the same time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th January 2010

cold
it gives me the shivers seeing the shavers in the snow.
8th January 2010

Wow that looks cold!
I am glad I am here in sunny NZ it must be hard for all of you over there trying to manage with the cold snap! Even though it looks pretty!!
12th January 2010

It looks beautiful
A picture postcard. So your dad has skype does he? I shall have to see if I can add him to mine. Very hot in Autralia. 42deg in Adelaide! We are not so bad, around 31deg. x
12th January 2010

either sounds tempting at the moment!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb