this is how it starts


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Powys » Llanfyllin
August 16th 2010
Published: August 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So a few weeks ago, just after a split from a dickhead of a boyfriend i decided to give up on all the saving money and being 'responsible' and buy myself a van. This has been something I have wanted to do for years but have never had the courage or the cash to just do it. After browsing autotrader and ebay for weeks, and after numerous arguments with my dad over which van was best suited (obviously he wanted the fuel efficient, fast van bla bla bla, who wants that?) I found 'the Rascal'. I can remember the night quite clearly, the parents where on a walk, I was sat infront of the t.v watching (yes I'm proud to admit it) eastenders, when I came across the little bedford rascal. Up to this point I was mearly browsing for vans but there was the van I wanted and as I later said to dad 'doesnt it just look like a little person) and yes it does.

2 days later, we're up in Bolton, I managed to tie down dad for the evening to come and help me pick it up. 10 minutes away from Bolton and I call the van owner up, he was down at the pub. I've never been to Bolton before, but i believe its quite common up there to run your buisiness from a pub. We arrive at the pub after doing a few embaressing laps of the area, with me shouting 'I've seen it, I can see the Rascal' everytime we pass it, to be faced with a large, but small (well imagine a barel, with a line of gold teeth) man, dad went straight into buisiness mode, whilst I stood and thought about all the fun I could have in the van. After a series of questions and bullshitting from Brian (the van man) dad asked for a drive about, so off they went leaving me surrounded by the Bolton local, who all by the way already thought we were idiots for even considering buying the van.

I casually pretended to talk on the phone to my friend to avoid any awkward unwanted conversation with the 3 men sitting outside, I watched as the van came down the road dissapeared behind a car (yes it is that small) then behind a wall and finally back into the car park. It was when I saw dad and Brian 2 largish men squeezed into the rascal that I realised this was the van for me.

After a quick exchange of money, the whole pub came to see the Rascal off, or more like the 2 idiots that had actually bought the van.. and so the adventures of the rascal begin..

oh now called Dizzy by the way.. work it out.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb