Saying au revoir


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Powys » Lake Vyrnwy
May 20th 2006
Published: May 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lake VyrnwyLake VyrnwyLake Vyrnwy

A village once stood under this reservoir that provides Liverpool with water. After the village was moved in the 1880s, the river was dammed to create this beautiful lake.
Since leaving work and my little flat in Loudwater, I have had the unprecedented pleasure of visiting friends and family around the country. It has been such a special time and I have enjoyed so much the luxury of spending time without the pressure of returning to work or the requirement to fit the visit into a particular time.

I have been particularly impressed with the beauty of England and reminded myself of how much exquisite countryside exists. May, of course, was the best possible month in which to see all this. I walked amongst ancient oaks and chestnuts in Sherwood Forest, climbed to the top of an ancient Iron Age hill fort in Shropshire, sat beside the quiet waters of Lake Vyrnwy in Wales (photos attached) and in the shade of very old trees in the Tewkesbury Abbey church yard.

I am grateful for all these gifts - friendship is of inestimable value in one's life, and I look forward to keeping in touch over the months to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

SculptureSculpture
Sculpture

There is a beautiful sculpture park just below the dam with wooden sculptures created by artists from all over the world. This one is entitled "Mother Earth" and I believe the artist is Russian.
TerraceTerrace
Terrace

This is a view of the terrace where I work most days with the entrance to my room behind.
View of Property from TerraceView of Property from Terrace
View of Property from Terrace

This is one view of the property from the terrace
View of Mountains View of Mountains
View of Mountains

This is a view of the mountains from the terrace each morning.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb