World Cup


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Powys » Brecon
June 8th 2006
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Route so far

Just under 1,500 miles in total

Rushing back to England in time for the first game against Paraguay on Saturday. Due to my Argentina cycling top the Welsh assume I'm from South America. It's made for some confusion.

Had a glorious week of cycling and climbing high mountains in some of the most beautiful areas of the UK: Snowdonia, the Cambrians, Pembokeshire and Brecon Beacons.

Apart from a stupid 87-mile day in blazing sun, ending in sunstroke and dehydration, all has gone smoothly. Only recently it was been discovered that Fan Foel, the highest point in Carmathenshire, was also the burial site of a 12-year-old girl. Her 2,000 year-old remains were only identified this year. The virgin would have been sacrificed to bring fertility to the surrounding fields. But her tomb had been used as a cairn shelter instead for all this time. Poor girl.

Nearly came to a messy end myself near Merthyr Tydfil - I rounded a blind corner to see a car on the wrong side of the road coming head-on. Somehow he missed me. Seconds later I saw a police car...heading in the wrong direction. Turns out four guys had caused chaos in the country lanes in the Brecon Beacons, nearly hitting a woman and pushchair.

I saw The Independent reported a "revolution" in bicycle use, which is a load of lefty nonsense, because drivers are less tolerant than ever. And the more cyclists there are the more intolerant people will be. Cyclists are like Marmite - you either love it or hate it, but motorists seem to forget that it's a human life on that bike. It's amazing how drivers selfishly take a risk to pass a cyclist when it could cost my life, their life and someone else's in another car.

What I'm doing has generated some interest. Story has been in the Bromsgrove Standard and Gloucestershire Echo, as well as outdoory magazine TGO.

Back to England on Monday - going through Warks, Northants, Hunts, Suffolk, Norfolk, Rutland, Lincs before heading north for the bigger hills.

Advertisement



8th June 2006

He's just a 'light weight'!!
He who would travel happily must travel light. Antoine de Saint-Exupery (1900 - 1944) Jonny is carrying next to nothing on this journey. Virtually eveything is in a small rucksac on his back. On the carrier on his bike is a pair of lightweight fabric boots. If it rains everything he's got gets wet! Now the quotation, I'm not that clever enough to know it myself but found it in a book Jonny gave me for xmas : Walking the West Highland Way. Methinks I am being 'set up' for something not least a quick detour up Ben Nevis and Buachille Etive Mor in Glencoe..........................
9th June 2006

My hat is off.
Jonny you have astounded me and I have loved reading your blog. What you're doing is amazing and I want more people to know about it, as I reckon it puts you in the top 0.000001% of people in the world with enough determination and grit to take this on. Keep on keeping on. See you for a pint soon. Matt

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb