Wandering Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Pembrokeshire » St Davids
July 8th 2008
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had some free time so I decided to escape from the summer heat in Saudi for some cooler British climes. As I had never been to southwestern Wales, I decided to make that my destination. I picked up my trusty Trumpet in Nottingham and made tracks towards the southwest, splitting Birmingham & Manchester.

Crossing the Welsh frontier near Newton at midday, I immediately headed south on the fantastic A483. I’ve raved about this road in the past, slicing north to south through Wales, it’s a fun-filled festival of high speed sweepers. I continue in a southwesterly direction on the A483 under sunny skies, skirting the Brecon Beacons National Park, arriving at Haverfordwest around 4 P.M. After securing a hotel for the night, I decided to make the most of the sunny weather, as the next day’s weather forecast called for rain.

I continued west to St. David’s Head, a headland in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park. Near Solva, I catch a glimpse of St. Brides Bay. After negotiating several miles of goat trails, I finally make it to St. David’s Head. From this point, I turn and head northeast, following a small, single track lane along the northern
A483A483A483

Heading south on the A483 towards Llandrindod Wells.
edge of the peninsula. The Pembrokshire coastline, is the only part of the British coast dedicated as a national park and I can see why. I thought it was nicer than even the rugged Cornish coastline.

From the coast, I began to make my way inland through the Preseli Hills. The Preseli Hills are often referred to as mysterious, haunting or atmospheric. A place where strange things have occurred and where the waters are reputed to have healing effects. The bluestones used at Stonehenge, have been traced to the Preseli Hills. The stones, weighing up to four tons, were somehow transported some 250 miles to the plains of Salisbury.

Pentre Ifan, an ancient dolmen, is also located here, overlooking the Irish Sea. Dating from 3500 BC, this was supposedly a communal burial ground. Originally a small mound surrounded the stones, explaining how the massive capstone was put in place. By then, it was late afternoon, so I began to make my way down the Preselis to the hotel near the coast.











Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

St. Brides BaySt. Brides Bay
St. Brides Bay

First glimpse of St. Brides Bay
St. Davids HeadSt. Davids Head
St. Davids Head

The view looking southward near St. Davids Head.
PembrokshirePembrokshire
Pembrokshire

Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.
Near AbereiddyNear Abereiddy
Near Abereiddy

A small fishing village near Abereiddy
Pembrokshire CoastlinePembrokshire Coastline
Pembrokshire Coastline

Continuing northeastward along the Pembrokshire coast.
Preseli HillsPreseli Hills
Preseli Hills

The mystical Preseli Hills.
Heading HomeHeading Home
Heading Home

Heading back towards the coast from the Preseli Hills.


Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb