MEANWHILE BACK AT THE RANCH . . . . .


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Newport
July 14th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, it’s been 3 weeks since I was meant to be on that flight to Toronto with Anne & Denise and I’ve got to say that I’ve been surprised at how well I’ve coped with the disappointment of not going. This was probably down to the fact that I had postponed my flight to the 15th July and again had a date to focus on and look forward to. As I couldn’t change the destination of my flight, the plan was to fly to Toronto, stay 1 night and get a flight the next day to Ottawa to meet up with the girls, just in time to experience the Rockies a few days later. Although I really wanted to see Niagara Falls & visit Montreal, I consoled myself with the fact that I would have the chance to see the lake that was named after me, because it’s so gorgeous (haha)! I’d always wanted to go to Lake Louise after I had received a postcard from a blind colleague who had gone there. I was so touched that he had thought of me and the postcard was stunning with red poppies in the foreground, the turquoise lake and the mountains in
Hay, things could be worse!Hay, things could be worse!Hay, things could be worse!

This is a mouse-eye view of my garden. Not a top priority when you’re ill. In the distance you may be able to see the lines from the plane that I’m supposed to be on.
the background - I knew I had to visit one day.

That was the plan …. but in reality things don’t always go according to plan. I’ve spent the last few days battling between my desire to fulfil my dreams and the sense to know that I’m not well enough too cope with the effort it takes to do so. I had done almost everything, packed my bags etc but in the end I came to the realisation that if I can’t handle a trip to the hairdressers followed by 2 hours of shopping in Newport, without being totally exhausted, then I don’t have much hope of coping with 3 flights in 3 days and hiking the trails of the Rocky Mountains. I have had to cancel my flights and put a claim in to the insurance company. Why did this have to happen to me now? What the hell is wrong with me? And when will I get better?

So what now? I wish I knew, but I still hope that I will be able to join the girls at some stage if possible, but this will not be in Canada, Mexico or Costa Rica. I am hopeful that I will be able to travel around South America, as this is the part that I wanted to do the most. I would be so gutted if I couldn’t see the wildlife on the Galapagos Islands, hike the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, travel through the salt plains in Bolivia, watch people dance Tango on the streets of Buenos Aires and to sing Barry Manilow’s finest song on Copacabana Beach in Rio! If I don’t get to go I will feel so used and abused as a travel agent …… I put so much effort into planning! Not that I would begrudge Anne & Denise experiencing it, I know they will have an awesome time. Let’s just say that if I don’t get to go, I’ll be looking for volunteers to go with me when I’m well!

If I do have to stay at home then I guess I’ll have to try to go back work and explain how my career break granted for travel for self development, has seen me travel to the Doctors & back home and not a lot else. I guess what’s meant to be is meant to be and as a friend said if I don’t go there’ll be a reason for it, maybe I’ll win the lottery or find the man of my dreams (not much hope there unless he is a delivery driver for a well known supermarket).

For now my bag remains packed...

Louise

Advertisement



2nd September 2008

Thinking about Louey
We've all been keeping in touch with Louey and wishing her well enough to follow her dreams. Also spent hours wishing I was closer than 4 hours away on the motorway.... Looking forward to meeting up next week and spending quality time with our besy mate Hugs at ya Louey xxxx

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb