Over Half Way


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Gwynedd » Caernarfon
March 10th 2012
Published: March 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

Things are going very well over here in Liverpool. For 2 weeks, I spent time studying education at Liverpool Hope. It was a great opportunity to meet other trainee teachers (they call them PGCE trainees here). Everyone was extremely friendly and I made quite a few good friends. Back at Hope College, they do not split up the education student teachers for our student teaching seminar. We all have seminar together, despite being elementary, secondary, or special ed and all having different majors and minors. Here, I was only with history secondary teachers. This provided a great opportunity to explore and discuss different ways to teach history. It was also interesting because the ages spanned from 22-35. It was incredible to hear all of the life experiences these students have already experienced before they have even begun their teaching career. Some of them had taught abroad for a few years, many had traveled all over the world, and another had been serving in Afghanistan.

Back at school, I am teaching many classes now. I teach years 7,8,9, and 12. In America, these classes would be 6,7,8, and 11. Three of my classes are considered low ability or a low set and most of the students would be classified as special education. Teaching in Liverpool has given me the opportunity to work with special ed students more than if I had remained in the States. I have a much better understanding of differentiation needs since being here. Things are going very well with the classes. I love my students, even the middle school classes. I have enjoyed teaching a few American lessons as well. Most recently, I have taught a lesson on Pearl Harbor and the Pacific front during World War II. This has been a lot of fun since the students are not familiar with this topic at all.

I have passed the half-way mark of being here in Liverpool. I have 5 more weeks at Calderstones. I can't believe that time is passing this quickly. But, with every lesson I teach, I become more eager to start my career. I am excited to see where I end up this coming fall. There are so many possibilities.

In 3 weeks, I will be headed to Europe to travel around. I am extremely excited for this part of my trip. In the mean time, I have been just enjoying Liverpool and traveling around here. Recently, I went to Wales to Caernarfon Castle. It was an absolutely beautiful day when we were there. I was in shock that we were allowed to climb the towers of this old castle. In America, that would be a safety issue and a government's regulation nightmare.

I hope everyone back home in the States is doing well. I miss you all 😊



-Becky


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



10th March 2012

Hi!
Hi! Have really enjoyed following your Blog...talking with your Mom about all your adventures. Our weather has been really mild. Juno is doing/looking great! Today the men were setting up the sprinkling system in the field and both horses were being entertained. :) Travel safe!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb