Caution: Elderly People Crossing


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
December 21st 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm not actually terrible at this - we've just been without internet, and for the last few days, I've had the flu. I think I got it from someone in Bristol (the backpackers wasn't really all that clean or nice) - but I've been going to sleep early the last few nights, and being a lazy bum the last few mornings. We're still out and about, but for shorter amounts of time each day.

We're in Cardiff right now, and one of the women who owns this hostel (an amazing hostel) recommended me to the pharmacy at a store called Boots, here - I got something called parcetamol...similar to tylenol, but it hasn't made me drowsy, and it seems pretty good otherwise, and some disgusting dissolvable vitamin tablet that initially tastes like orange vitamin C tablets, but has an aftertaste of chewed multi-vitamins. It's working, but it's really, really gross.

So, with that out of the way (oh, and also - take another look at the last entry - I made an edit) - I've officially given up photo uploading...it's costing way too much moola. I finally found a computer which will allow photo uploading, and my friggin' card is too large - ergo, it takes a billion years to load the photos....I give up. I'll make 42 million facebook albums when we get home.

Starting with Glastonbury: We went and saw the Glastonbury Abbey, which was an abbey built in the later half of the first millenium, and allegedly holds the bodies of King Arthur and Guinevere. There was a plaque for where they were buried, and the whole grounds were surrounded by apple orchards and little ponds and things. Even in the fogginess, it was still pretty. After that, we wandered the town for a few hours - I've never seen so many new-age shops in one area in my entire life. We wandered into a few, but other than a rune set made out of aspen (which was WAY too expensive), I didn't actually get anything. We spent our last night in Bristol that night, and the following morning made the trek to Wales.

I was really disappointed in crossing the Bristol Channel. I was hoping for a bridge....but we got a tunnel. I don't think Alex cared - his nose has been in a book for days now (I know, I'm impressed too!) - but I was annoyed.

When we crossed the border to Wales, we went to a little town called Abergavenny (in welsh it is Y Fenni and it means "From the mouth of the river Gavenny") - there is tons of castles in this region...it's why we picked it. We stayed in another less than impressive hostel called the Black Sheep (the welsh love their sheep, you see) - and decided to rent bikes. We were here two days. The morning after we arrived, we attempted to bike to one of the castles, 14km one way. We didn't make it all the way though - and decided to head back to town. The wind was atrocious, and it was kinda rainy. We had fun anyhow, even when I got a flat jumping a sidewalk. My tires were initially overpumped.

And now, we're in Cardiff. We've gone to three castles - Cardiff Castle, Castle Coch, (both of which were redesigned by William Burgess - an amazing architect - some of the rooms were gilded in 22 carat gold foil, and carved parrots and monkeys were everywhere) and Caerphilly Castle (a true castle, designed to defend, not to hold fancy pants noble people)

We have been having fun. And tomorrow, we leave Cardiff, and go to St.Davids and enjoy 5 nights in a big bed, and cook our own food in real kitchens, but we won't have internet.

Have a Merry Christmas!

PS: I love Wales, and Alex does too.

Advertisement



21st December 2008

Merry HoHo
Hi there - I love the first hand history lessons. I'd be blown away by the actual fact that King Arthur might have stood in the very spot where you have been. Boggles the mind doesn't it. Well it look like we will be having a white Christmas this year. Tons of snow and cold (well, by my standards anyway) negative 12 yesterday. Ya, ya I know.... The water pipes for the washing machine are frozen - bonus, don't have to do laundry! I so glad you like Wales. I would rather believe it's because of our Welsh blood, even though Kathy thinks not. Love you and hope you have a fabulous next 5 days in a real bed and a very Merry Merry Christmas xxx Mama xxx

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb