Cardiff, City of Torchwood


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Got up early today.... not by choice, but by necessity. Two of the others in the room were leaving this morning, and making quite a racket as they got ready and packed. I was up and out of the hostel by 9:30am. That's early for me! And I took my time this morning getting ready, having breakfast, etc....

The hostel is really nice. For breakfast there were 4 kinds of cereal to choose from, two types of bread for toast, 6-7 different spreads for your toast, coffee, tea, orange juice, apple juice, milk.... Some places don't even offer breakfast as part of the deal, so this was a nice treat. I decided to try the lemon curd spread, and it tasted like a piece of lemon meringue pie! YUM!

Walked down to Cardiff Bay.... It was about a 45 min. walk, but the weather was pretty nice, so I didn't mind all that much. I went to the Dr. Who exhibit and while it was pretty good, I'm glad I didn't pay more than £5 to get in. It really was just one large room with lots of costumes and a few props from the new series. Not much of the first season with Christopher Eccleston, but more of the last two seasons with David Tennant. There was a Dalek that moved and spoke, and I'm glad that I had my point & shoot camera with me instead of the dSLR, so I could take a few videos there. I hopefully got a few good photos. There were lots of video clips available, and some brief synopses of episodes, which was good because then it reminded me of past episodes. I spent about an hour there, and that was probably longer than a typical person would spend. And I got a pressed penny! The TARDIS will soon be added to my collection on my fridge. 😊

I was supposed to meet my friend Sara, aka Duckiemonster at TPMG, at 2pm. I had quite a bit of time to kill, so I wandered around Cardiff Bay a bit on my own, took a few photos of the big shiny, silver thingy that they use as the front door to Torchwood, and hung out. Unfortunately that statue thing (sometimes it's a waterfall, but they turned the water off around noon!) is also currently covered in strawberry decals, advertising the festival that's going on this weekend in Cardiff. The silver thingy just doesn't look the same. 😞

I met up with Sara, and we wandered around Cardiff Bay for a while. I took some photos, but mostly I just talked with Sara, catching up and hanging out. It was great to see her! Her boyfriend came and met us for dinner, and we went to an Italian place where we all had pizza. Individual pizzas at this place were about 12-14" in diameter! They were huge! Good thing they were thin crust! I didn't finish mine, and have a quarter or so of it in the fridge here that I should probably eat later tonight.

Sara and Jamie left me after dinner, and I took the train up to Queen Street station. I got out there and wandered back to the hostel going along Queen Street so I could take some more photos and try and find some of the Torchwood/Dr. Who locations from past episodes. I don't think I really recognized anything though.

Tomorrow I'm off to Oxford to check out the amazing architecture there, and have a look around!

Advertisement



3rd August 2008

early bird!
having travelled quite extensively with our dear friend sue over the years, i can safely say that a 9:30 start to a day of sightseeing is veeeeeeeeeeeery early for her!! sounds like you packed alot in! i'm afraid i've never actually watched dr. who (sorry, fans!) so the references were lost on me...but i'm glad you had fun!!

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb