Scottish Adventures: The Final Days


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
October 8th 2016
Published: October 9th 2016
Edit Blog Post

My last few days in Scotland were just as amazing as the first few. Sadly, my aunt and I had to eventually leave the Highlands and return to Edinburgh. As excited as I was to be back in the big city, I was really going to miss the enchanting, captivating place that was the Highlands. The rural countryside had stolen my heart in a matter of days, and I was really going to miss it.Edinburgh was just as beautiful as we'd left it though. I definitely love the Scottish countryside more, but I must say that the city is incredible. It is so full of history.

Anyway back to what I was saying. We had intended to spend that night just relaxing and watching movies. We got takeout and watched Sunshine On Leith, a Scottish musical based around The Proclaimers album. Then we watched Mamma Mia!, all the while enjoying a couple gin and tonics. Around 11pm, my slightly tipsy aunt decided that we should go out on the town. So we got all dressed up, called a cab, and set out. First we hit up an Irish pub, hoping to get to listen to some live Irish music and drink a few pints. Sadly the band wasn't singing any Irish music, just covers of popular songs. Then we tried a club, which was too crowded and loud. Finally, we settled on a small bar with good live music. We stayed there for the rest of the night, enjoying our beer and making new friends. By 1 am we were both pretty tired, tipsy, and ready for bed, so we cabbed home and passed out. The next day we went to Go Ape, a high ropes course in Peebles, which was a lot of fun. Since it was just the two of us, we managed to do all six courses in pretty decent time. The high ropes course didn't exactly help our hangovers, but it was sill a great time.

That afternoon, we picked my cousins up from school, which was great because I had really missed them the past three days, especially because I had only seen them for one night so far. They were delighted to see us; we got the biggest hugs. That night they had a Ceilidh (Scottish dance) at school, so after dinner we dropped them off and went back home for some champagne. We got hungry, so we walked over to the pub, drank a fair bit, and then decided to go try a different pub (to find the cute boys). We had no luck at the next pub, so we gave up and went home to watch Outlander. Despite our bad luck with the Scottish men, we ended up having a really great night. Eventually we had to go pick the boys up, so we walked over to the school and fetched them. My aunt and I joined in on the dancing, which they found super embarrassing. The next day was my last full day in Scotland, so my cousins and I went to the Royal Highland Show to check out the animals and farm equipment. Okay, we were mostly going because I wanted to get a couple pictures with some of the Heilan Cous (Highland cows). Luckily for me there were hundreds there, so I got plenty of photos.

After that we went to the mall to get some lunch, and we had a wonderful time chatting and laughing. As I looked at my two adorable cousins and my amazing aunt, I realized how lucky I was to have gotten to experience such an incredible trip, with such incredible people. The trip had been exactly what I needed; adventures, laughs, culture, history, endless stories, and plenty of booze. It had been the trip of a lifetime, and it had changed me. I had grown up in just a week. The whole experience had been absolutely freeing. I was so lucky as to have gotten to live it.

That night we got McDonalds and watched movies. It was really nice and relaxing, the perfect ending to my perfect trip. I cuddled with my cousins and just enjoyed our last night together. In the morning I woke up early to catch my flight home. My cousins woke up early too, and together we drove to the airport. It was really sad saying goodbye to them. There were tears all around, and plenty of hugs. Eventually, we had to part so that I wouldn't miss my flight. As I stood in line at security, I could see them waving at me from the other side of the glass doors. My heart was felt so full, and I was so incredibly happy to have gotten to spend eight wonderful days in that magical country with my lovely family. But at the same time, I was also ready to see my family as I had missed them.

Sitting on the plane, looking out at what little of the gorgeous countryside I could see from the airport, my heart felt heavy, but full. I would really miss this beautiful, enthralling country and the wonderful people in it. I would definitely be returning to Scotland as soon as I could. I realized that after this trip, I would never be the same. I had always loved travelling, like most people do, but my Scotland adventure had given me a whole new appreciation of travelling. That trip only reinforced my belief that I had to be a journalist one day, so that I could do my two favourite things: travel and write.

In summary, Scotland was the most incredible place I have ever seen (other than my homeland Canada), and I think it is necessary to go there at least once in your lifetime. Trust me, you will not regret a second spent there. Chances are, Scotland will capture your heart the same way it captured mine, wholly and completely.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb