South Laggan to Fort Augustus


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
August 14th 2012
Published: August 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

BlistersBlistersBlisters

Poor Ginger Disclaimer: sorry for the incorrect identification of blistered feet Lady Wheezy
Today started and ended great! We fell in love with the Forest Lodge B&B. Robert and Linda are fantastic, breakfast was one of the best we've had and the conversations with our hosts we informative and friendly. Truly great people that I would love to see again someday. In all good fun we renamed Rambling Robert to "Randy Robert" because he teased us and joked around so much. How his wife, the Lovely Linda deals with him we'll never know!

We left today for our 10.5 mile walk, give or take the mile to get to the starting point, at 10:30ish. A little later than yesterday, but we were planning on an easy, slow day. Who's kidding who, we all felt lucky to be walking at all! Lady Wheezy had surgery on her blisters by the ever competent Ginger while I, the feint of heart when it comes to cutting into others skin, was down in the family room working on my blog. So she was feeling better and between her and Ginger, they were sporting a mile of gauze, a roll of tape and a mountain of mole skin. Lady Wheezy and I ditched our hiking boots, you know,
KneesKneesKnees

2 body parts down..
the really well broken in ones, for a pair of worn out sneakers and some converse. Mine didn't hit my ankle and hers didn't cause more blisters, so we were good to go!

We stopped to stretch when we reached the starting point and I tried talking the girls into a little "pole stretching" since Ginger was rocking her iPod sexy music on my portable speakers. So it was pole stretch 101 which ended up with lots of giggles and some really stupid pictures.

Today was by far the most beautiful day of scenery we have had. We spent most of the day in a canopy of trees on the edge of The Caledonian Canal. The trees, rocks and bushes were covered in the most beautiful shades of Nessie green. I saw more shades of green than I even knew existed. The Caledonian "50 shades of green" has nothing on Christian Gray!

I also learned a few lessons today, but none more important than a moss covered tree does not a good stripper pole make! No matter how well you think you have removed the moss, that sucker is still slippery. (I am determined to find find
PUPPIES!PUPPIES!PUPPIES!

Some early morning puppy loving. 4 month old Springer Spaniel
a place to invert; picture to follow) No matter though, we had one of the best laughs of the day as I flung my leg onto the tree and promptly slid to the forests edge, leg still extended, flat on my back. Of course my BFF's came running to my rescue! NOT! I saw flashes from a camera and almost went deaf with the sounds of belly busting laughter as I lay sprawled on my back, leg slung around the tree in a bed of moss, grass and god knows what else! Did I tell you that I was warned against wearing shorts due to ticks and midges! Lady Wheezy assured me that she kept 'checking my butt' for bugs, but I swear she was just plain 'old checking me out. 😉

We passed some cool stuff, ate at a fantastic little cafe where "Marvelous Margaret" who wore a cute little plastic 'penny' served us tea and sandwiches. We got some great puppy loving from Skipper and even ran into our English friends with their 3 pups. Man, days like this I miss my Winnie-the -Pooh something awful. He would have loved this adventure, roaming free while walking for
Randy RobertRandy RobertRandy Robert

Randy Robert and the Adventure Sisters
hours on end.

On the second half of the day we ran across some kayakers who had started in Fort William. They were pretty impressed with our push up/sit up routine and when we asked them to take a picture of the three of us together, we had to drop and given them one for good measure. They were from Wales and kept yelling Aaawwwll- Riiiichh (alright). They thought it was really funny, so we kept yelling it back to them anytime our paths would cross.

We ended our day in the quaint, postcard looking town of Ft. Augustus. Absolutely charming! Our B&B is Thistle Dubh pronounced "this'll do". Our host is a wonderful lady named Susan. No nickname as of yet, but stayed tuned! We walked down to the very beginning of the infamous Loch Ness for dinner at a lakeside venue. Of course we started off with dessert, that sticky toffee pudding is do die for and tonights tasted like it had just come from the oven. Some Gaelic coffee, whiskey, chicken with haggis, and fish and chips were on the menu tonight. No surprise I did not order the haggis! Dinner did not disappoint!
GigglesGigglesGiggles

Pole dancing stretching, you know, for our walk

So we head out tomorrow for our last easy day. 9.5 miles to our next stop. I am missing my husband and feeling very melancholy tonight. Good thing it was my turn for the single room. No offense to my adventure sisters, but a night alone to dream of my man will be good for my soul. So until tomorrow, 'Slainte!'. That's cheers in Gaelic. (pronounced Gawlic)

Stats:

Day 1: 14 miles; 30 push ups; 30 squats or sit ups (depended on the terrain). We left at 11:10am arrived at 6:30pm

Day 2: 17.5 miles; 25 push ups; 25 sit ups, squats or tricep dips (depending on terrain) We left at 10:05am arrived at 6:00pm

Day 3: 10.5 miles; 40 push ups; 40 sit ups/squats. We left at 10:30am arrived at 5:30pm


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Big Ass SlugBig Ass Slug
Big Ass Slug

They were kind of cool
Slippery SuckerSlippery Sucker
Slippery Sucker

Yep, that was going to be a butterfly pose
I'm stupid!I'm stupid!
I'm stupid!

Trying not to pee my pants from laughter!


14th August 2012
Knees

Lady Wheez
Look at you trying to look all tough with your ankle weights! Like you wore those on your walk.
14th August 2012
Slippery Sucker

Miss me much!
Wow! It looks like you really do miss me.
14th August 2012

Dessert?
Ok. What is with the dessert? I get it that it was fun to order dessert before the meal once in your life, but is that now the theme for the rest of the trip?
14th August 2012

Under Pressure
Every night we see the same people at the restaurants. We are kind of known for ordering dessert first along with some whiskey. It's kind of our thing. We don't want to dissappoint the masses!!
15th August 2012
Blisters

Man that sucks, I feel sorry for you. I'm being sincere not sarcastic Lady Wheezt. Do you need a feet rub?
15th August 2012
Knees

Hope you like the video I'm sending to make all of you feel better. Man this trip is testing you mentally and physically. You can do it.
15th August 2012
Slippery Sucker

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha priceless
15th August 2012
Future Black Belt

Oh yeah, that's my future black belt. Gettem girl. Good form and even with back pack, swollen ankle, hurt knee and blisters. Awesome
15th August 2012

I sent the video to your email. I hope it pumps you gals back up. You have a fan base in Cali.
15th August 2012

Never apologize for or explain...
...sticky toffee pudding. Eat it every chance you get. O ye who do not know it, ye have heaven still to which to ascend! Sounds like such a great trip and I get such a sense of everything from how you write. Envy!
15th August 2012
Future Black Belt

NICE TITLE!
15th August 2012
Giggles

Your faces are awesome, I hope we still see those same smiles at the finish line. Keep going, zusdsrb is cheering for you.

Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb