The Great Glen Way(1)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
August 6th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lochaber No moreLochaber No moreLochaber No more

A quick stop to get a drink at the water next to Lochaber
Hi everyone. Been a while since I added any entires on to this site. Been meaning to let you know all about my walking holiday I went on from Fort William to Inverness, that I had in MAY.
The walk is an extension to the West Highland Way which I completed last year. Like I said, it runs from the end of WHW at Fort William though 74miles of the Highlands to the centre of Inverness.
I got the bus to Fort William from Glasgow Buchannan St Bus Station. Ticket only cost £5 if booked online. The start point is facing the bus/train station so it was easy to find. The first few miles are simlar to to the WHW, as in that you are mostly walking though small woodland areas, beside houses with many dog walkers around you. At the Starting Monument I meet 3 people from Austrailia. Who took some photos of me there and where kind enough to let me tag along for most of the first day.
After you leave Fort William you stick next to the water and head though Lochaber towards the start of the Great Canals. The Canals are very intersting and if you
A deserved restA deserved restA deserved rest

The end of the first days walking at Gairlochy
had the time and the weather is nice you can easily spend a few hours relaxing and enjoying the atmosphere . I personally have been to them though many times over the years on my way to Arasiag with my family, so I stoped only for 15mins to have a quick rest and my first lunch.
The entire first days walk was very easy and flat. You stick to a route next to the canal till you get to Gairlochy, 13 miles from Fort William. The route can become quite tedious and I was Glad to have company to stop me from becoming so bored that I might have swam the canal just to keep me occupied.
Along the way a few boats were going back and forth. Mostly Rich people showing off I thought.
The first night I stayed at the campsite in Gairlochy which was 2 miles away from the Great Glen Way route. The campsite was very rocky and to honest with you, a dump. Hardly anyone was there, but tents where only allowed in a small section. With nothing to do I had an early night to allow me to get a decent start the next day

Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0982s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb