Somedays you should just go back to bed- unless there's a spider there


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire » Stirling
March 6th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm getting ready to head out to The William Wallace Pub with Nick to play some pool. Today's been interesting to say the least.

On the way to my first class, the cap to my water bottle came off and spilled water through out the entire bottom of my bag. I noticed when it started dripping on my leg. So, my cell phone is drying out, my digital camera (safe in the side pocket) still works, and I've made nice with all the librarians about the books I was going to return after my class (sometimes it better to have late fees). After working all of that out, I missed my history class and decided that it was time to take on a semi/sporadic defeatist attitude and head into town for some scotch.

Scotch for my brother-in-law. I found the coolest store in town- it only sells Scotch from Scotland. I think it's one of David's dreams come true. Nick and I walked into the store, met with the owner, and first question out of my mouth, "Do you guys take American Express?" How touristy, right? They did in fact take the card, so I said, "I need you to tell me a little about scotch. I'm picking some stuff out for my brother-in-law, and he would like a variety...rather- a large variety of scotch." So Stewart and I became fast friends as he told me about all the different flavors a scotch can have, the different kinds of scotches that are made, where the scotches are made, which ones were still being made in the place they were first made in, and which were still in the families that they began in.

So David, I got one of each. Glenfarclas is made here in Scotland and has stayed within the same family for all six generations that it has been made. Littlemill has stopped being produced, although it was always made in Scotland. Now it is only aged here. The Peat Monster is the peaty tasting of them all. It has a smoky, rich flavor that is best enjoyed as an after dinner drink because the flavor is so strong. Auchentoshan is aged in three seperate times in a new cask each time and has the lightest flavor of the four.

Nick and I tried the Glenfarclas. He had the 105 proof, and I had the one aged 15 years. I've never had scotch before, so you can imagine what a shocker that was since it's like 60 proof or something like that. Stewart and I watched Nick as he gulped the 105 proof. Instantaneously his face was beat red- and he's not even Irish. So David, we went for the 15.

Stewart looked at me a little funny when I told him that I'd like a bottle of each. I practically had to convince him to pick up a bottle of each one and bring it to the register. It's like two people just don't usually come in and buy five bottle of scotch between the two of them every day or something (Nick picked up a bottle for himself too).

Anyways, I promised Stewart that these four bottles were not for me and also let him know that I would be back next week and then we were on our merry way. I forced Nick to wait for me while I looked for clothes in a store in The Thistle Center (the mall) and then we grabbed dinner at Longhorns, the barbeque place here in Stirling.

I came back to my flat, was chilling out watching South Park, when a spider climbed over my face- like around my head, up over my hair, over my eye ball (yes, eye ball), and down on to my pillow. Fricking big spider. It climbed up my wall, and I smashed it, only to have it land on my pillow, roll off, and spill spider blood on my sheet, right next to where my head usually is while I'm sleeping. Guess who's not going to get much shut eye tonight.

So now Nick and I are heading to The Wallace because staying in here with my spider infested sheets (oh and one of my friends, Harriet, mentioned that it may just be that a spider climbed into my ear and laid eggs) will only make me more paranoid about sleeping tonight. Maybe I'll have some scotch at The Wallace...

And just as a sidenote - since I missed class- we can actually call this afternoon an educational journey. My Scottish Society professor said the other day, "No scotches are actually made in Scotland anymore because Scotland has become a place of major companies and has outsourced a lot of its original production." Wrong. All the Scotches in the store are made in Scotland (about 45)- according to Stewart anyways (and at least Glenfarclas, Auchentoshan, Littlemill, and Peat Monster).

Advertisement



8th March 2008

Well, you did it.
You've clinched the Best Sister-in-law in The Entire History of Anything that Ever Was, Is or Will Be.
8th March 2008

Oh -
I hope the spiders are leaving. Sorry about that. Glad you're not Eleanor, though, or you'd probably be on the first plane back to the US.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb