Airthrey Loch


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire » Stirling
September 20th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Airthrey LochAirthrey LochAirthrey Loch

A view of the Loch
On Monday I had a five-hour break between my two classes, so instead of going back to the flat and goofing off (as I will undoubtedly do for the remainder of the semester) I decided to stay on campus and goof off. I wanted to walk all the way around the loch. I had walked about half of it previously, but was eager to see the whole thing. Unfortunately, it was gray and chilly. The walk was still pleasant, however!
I read somewhere that the entire campus grounds take up 310 acres, but I'm not sure whether that includes the campus buildings or not. Either way, it's a lovely place. Green lawn, trees, aquatic plans bordering the loch, and ducks everywhere. And seagulls. And squirrels. That's about as exotic as the wildlife gets here, I'm afraid!
I've included some pictures of Airthrey Castle, even though I haven't been there yet. It's situated right next to the golf course (haven't been there yet, either, but for a different reason!), and I have yet to find out if and when it's open to the public. Rest assured I will, though. No castle I pass will escape my scrutiny!! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

LochLoch
Loch

Trying to be artistic...
StumpStump
Stump

I just thought this tree stump was cool looking.
LochLoch
Loch

I think this one looks very save-the-wetlands-ad.
SwansSwans
Swans

More wildlife!
Uncooperative DuckUncooperative Duck
Uncooperative Duck

He shook his head right when I took the picture! How disappointing.
Swans?Swans?
Swans?

I can't tell if they were swans or just white ducks/geese. But they were pretty!
SignSign
Sign

Signs, signs, everywhere a sign...
MonumentMonument
Monument

A view of the monument across the Loch. Too bad it's back-lit. It wasn't actually that gloomy!
Hill?Hill?
Hill?

I'm not sure what the name of that hill/mountain is, but there it is across the soccer field.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb