Looking Back


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire » Falkirk
July 24th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

EdinburghEdinburghEdinburgh

just arrived back on home soil!!!
Well here I am back home in Falkirk and it is as if I've never been away.........it has been the best and quickest ten and a half months ever!!


From my travelling experiences I can tell you that, travelling broadens the mind, expands the waist line and finally drains the bank account..........so the next step is a job then the gym.


since I've been travelling I've been on 23.5 flights (the half is cause I jumped out of one of the planes) slept in 94 different beds, met hundreds of different people and been in 10 different countries and loads of stories to tell..........a great experience and would recommend it to anyone....you would not regret it if you done it!!!


Highlights - learning to scuba dive, doing my sky-dive, doing the bungy jump, sleeping in swags under the stars at Ayers Rock Australia and of course meeting new people.


Lowlights - Fracturing my heel in Australia and being ill in Cambodia for a few days.


Favorite Country - Thailand, as it has a culture difference, language difference, food is amazing, has a bit history regarding the war with the Death Railway, amazing beaches, relaxed way of life, nice people (outside of Bangkok) and of course financially appealing to the backpacker!!!!


Favorite City - I liked New York alot and will be back there again sometime, I have probably chosen NYC because it is the freshest in my mind, but it is a really fascinating place with alot of history and very unique.


Most livable country - has to be Australia, just like home but nicer weather and the petrol is cheaper......I could move out there tomorrow!!


Favorite Tour - was the Red Centre in Australia. Just to stand next to Ayers Rock, sleep in swags under the stars and meet so many nice people in the group that got on great together. The whole experience was really amazing!!


Best decision whilst travelling - there are two; the first was my decision to go to Cambodia......such a fascinating country. And the second was meeting up with the lads in Cancun, Mexico!!


Best Food I was introduced to - Has to be Cheese Kranksy's cooked by Mick on the Barbie!!!!


Advantages I learned about travelling alone - you don't have to answer to anyone, no one to compromise with, go where, when and do what ever the hell you want.........nobody knows you so you can be anyone you like.


Well I hope you have enjoyed the journey with me and that it kept you all entertained and hopefully it has given you the idea to do something similar!!





Advertisement



31st July 2008

oh
oh Stevo, that nearly brought a tear to our eyes!! What a fab way to end your blog, just about to check it all out now. Hope your happy back in Scotland, chat soon. F and L xx
4th August 2008

Welcome Home
Welcome Home big chap, from reading your blogs it sounds like you have had a magic time!! Will catch up with you soon, not sure if you have heard but im a dad now!! Speak later mate... watson

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb