Go solo?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Renfrewshire » Greenock
April 25th 2010
Published: April 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first blog- eeek!

Have been looking forward to a big trip (Thailand- Cambodia, Vietnam, Singapore, Australia and New Zealand) with my friend for the last four years, while I was at Uni. It got to the week we were going to book it and he has dropped out! Could honestly kick him right around the block just now! :-S

So got the choice, do I go solo or miss out on the whole thing? Bit nervous about going myself because I've got an idea that being female and travelling alone is like asking fortrouble but I really don't think I can just not go after looking forward to it for that long!

Looking for a travel buddy now, at least for Thailand to get me started and am checking out a lot of websites for advice and things. It's a little less scary now

Advertisement



27th April 2010

Definitely Go
I have done quite a bit of solo travel and have always met people to do things with and enjoyed time spent doing and seeing things alone. Being alone gives you the freedom to do whatever you want, whenever you want. If you don't like a place, you leave. If you do, stay as long as you want without having to check with anyone. Of course you have to be aware and sensible and not put yourself in dangerous situations, but overall I have found people the world over helpful and friendly. Good luck and I hope you don't miss out on this great adventure.
2nd May 2010

Thanks for the advice
I've looked over a lot of online stories and everyone seems to agree with what you have said too... going to book my trip tomorrow, after all, if I hate it and am dying of loneliness (unlikely!) I can always come home again! Thank you for your comment, it's reassuring to hear from someone who's been there and done it :)

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb