USA Round Trip 2013


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Perthshire » Perth
December 9th 2012
Published: December 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've been talking about it for months, thinking about it, backing away, researching, and backing off again, but now I've bitten the bullet and committed!

I fly from Edinburgh to Heathrow on Friday 5th june, then on to Toronto later that morning, arriving 1405 local time.

The following day I return to Pearson Int Airport to pick up my Grand Jeep Cherokee, then set off on my round trip. The plan is to drive to Chicago Il., probably in a day, then pick up the beginning of the old Route 66 for Santa Monica. I would hope to stick to the old Route 66 as much as possible., hopefully covering it in a fortnight (or so), then a fast burn up the West Coast to Vancouver, then east again to Toronto via a family gathering in Alberta on the 27th, then back to Toronto and home (via New York) on 5th August.

I'll put more on as the time comes closer (probably), and try to update this blog on a daily basis (or at least as often as I can get online). I'm going to try to do the whole trip "unchained" - not quite as extreme as the Steve Gorman trip - I really don't think I can be bothered hunting down independant petrol (gas!) suppliers, but I certainly want to eat and sleep independent if I can. It's not always easy, because a lot of people just don't understand what I'm talking about when I ask for directions to "independant" hotels. And of course, almost by definition, a lot of the independent (Mon 'n' Pop) motels. I remember a few years ago driving forty miles to an "Independant" motel that turned out to be a Day's Inn, by which time I was too tired to care. This trip, however, I will at least have the option of sleeping in the car.

Advertisement



9th December 2012

Hey well done Ian Keep us posted x

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb