Conference Day 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 14th 2016
Published: October 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

I spent the morning finding a place to do our laundry before going home. Taking dirty clothes back from any trip is something I try to avoid. My search turned up a self-serve laundromat, but they also offered pick up and delivery. I made arrangements for the next day. Then it was time to get to the conference that started at 9:00am.

Roger wandered the city again. It wasn't convenient for us to have to keep meeting back at the outside door to the apartment each time we'd both been out. The day was overcast and drizzly. At our afternoon meet-at-the-door, I suggested I have a second set of keys made. Roger stayed in (he didn't feel well, but hadn't told me yet) while I did a few errands that included duplicate keys.

I still had some free time after my errands, so I stopped in a manicure salon. For the first time since 2008 (Jessica and Brian's wedding) I had polish applied. As nice as they looked, I realized I don't do this because you have to wait for it to dry completely to avoid damage and it has to be done on a regular basis to look nice.

Back to the apartment, where both new keys worked, to drop off a few things and give Roger the original keys, before heading back to the conference, which concluded about 4:00pm.

Europeans typically eat dinner after 7:00pm. We tended to start about 5:00pm when possible. This night was French at Chez Jules, across the main street and less than a block away. The background music was too loud and the service was slower than it should have been for so few patrons. They graciously turned down the music when asked and the food was delicious.

Back at the apartment I checked on our Friday transfer and flights, caught up my daily written journal entries and turned in at 10:00pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb