Scotland, I will miss yee, Aye I will.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 14th 2012
Published: May 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our last day in Scotland started with a well earned sleep in. Our tour was amazing but I was completely exhausted. Luckily I had managed to snag a room with Natasha, Erikka and Sid. So we all headed up to Edinbrugh castle to get piccy's while the sun shone and the sky was blue. We caught up with Max and Matthew here and headed off to the markets Erikka had heard of...which were AMAZING!!! I am a big foodie and there was so much to see, taste, smell and devour. Lots of yummy stalls lined up with so many varieties of food, cheese, chocolate, pasteries, soaps, meats, everything! I was in foodie heaven. I ended up eating an oink burger with haggis and two cinnamon fresh baked donuts, not to mention the other taste testers I had along the way. It was so good, I could have stayed but we wanted to get back to do a walking tour as Sid and Erikka's friends/housemates had also turned up to join us.

I managed about an hour of the walking tour before we stopped for a coffee break and I spotted a store I had eyed off the previous night that had cute clothes. We were supposed to go back but Natasha and I found Ann and decided that as it had started raining that we had better opportunities in the quaint boutiques than re-hashing history we had already learnt on tour. I ended up with a tartan skirt (Scotish kilt style, hehe), cute necklace and gorgeous vintage picnic dress that we all agreed would look great later when I was in Capri in Italy. Haha :-)

When it started to snow lightly we stopped at Cockburn cafe for refreshments before heading off again for the Harry potter walking tour. Our guide was a little too excited and gave us plastic wands to wave around while we were supposed to say spells....Nik and I decided - Not. Haha We got about half way through before it started to pour in buckets and we abandoned tour for hot chocolate and a cheese platter at the elephant cafe (where J.K. Rowling would occasionally go to write her books. The cheese was sooo good. We spent the entire afternoon sitting around eating and chatting. When it got dark and we decided we needed dinner, Brendon, Kristy and Shane turned up for dinner before we headed out for drinks and giggles afterwards. Another great night and a perfect ending to Scotland. Now with only 3 hours sleep, I am off on an early flight to Dublin!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb