Toronto-London-Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
February 26th 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Greetings from somewhere between London and Edinburgh. I've started my journey through the UK, which I planned for the purposes of "recovering".....both furniture (taking an upholstery course) and myself (no need for explanation). It will be the first trip I have done completely solo so it should be interesting, that is for sure.

Landed in Heathrow last night, and hour late and then spent 30 mins waiting to get through the customs line. Meanwhile at Paddington Station my gracious hostess, Jenna, was awaiting my arrival….and in a classic Lindsey move, I hadn’t given her my flight number so she could check if it was running late, nor did I have a cell phone to call her, as I had given my cell back when I left my job. Not that it would have mattered because I hadn’t written down her number anyway, it was still in my email! No bid deal though - with my ultraportable laptop, I can get online anywhere right? Apparently not in the customs line at Heathrow. At this point I was sweating…. Literally…..because I layered my clothes so much because I couldn’t fit all the clothes I wanted to take in my large suitcase. But eventually I made contact with Jenna, and caught a train to Paddington. You don’t realize how convenient a phone is untill you don’t have one. Long day, but ended nicely with red wine.

Now I’m on a train to Edinburgh, Scotland…lovely English countryside out the window. I’m going to stay in a hostel in Edinburgh and will be trying to pass myself off as a “young, just out of school traveller”. I’m going to see how young I can tell people I am, and have them believe me. I’m sure I look too tired and jaded to pull it off - also I will be the only person there with a full sized suitcase and not a “backpack”. But we will see.


Advertisement



3rd March 2010

Probably the only one at the hostel with a laptop as well...

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb