Rediscovering Edinburgh!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
January 17th 2010
Published: January 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Heart of MiddlelothianHeart of MiddlelothianHeart of Middlelothian

The Royal Mile, Edinburgh
The day I had for Edinburgh, I decided to join a free walking tour of the city. Joining the tour entitles you to a free upgrade to a large coffee at Starbucks, which I happily did!!! Handy for a cold day! Seth, the tour guide, took us around the old town where he explained Edinburgh's and Scotland's history in an interesting and interactive way! We took in the Royal Mile, St Gile's Cathedral, Mercat Cross, The Writers Museum (Got to know about the famous Scottish writers, Walter Scott, Robert Louis Stevenson and Robert Burns. There is a big birthday celebration for Burns on 25th January. It is a big thing Scotland and at my local Tesco, it seems!), Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard (Cemetery) and Greyfriars Bobby. We also learnt about the Stone of Destiny at the Princess Gardens. Although I toured the city many times, I appreciated the history even more from the walking tour and saw new sights I "missed" previously.

During the evenings, I was experimenting night photography....some turned out and many did not! I need to invest in a more advance camera to benefit and improve even if I love my camera!

Afterwards, feeling tired from the tour the day before, I returned to the hostel where I had a leisurely lunch, relaxed and collected my left luggage before catching my train home, thankfully direct to Leeds. It was a great weekend in all with a combination of planning and spontaneity.

Looks like I'll be returning to Edinburgh later on in the year where I plan to do the Highlands Tour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

David HumeDavid Hume
David Hume

An Enlightenment Philiospher, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh
Bank of ScotlandBank of Scotland
Bank of Scotland

I love the lighting!
Northern (Edinburgh) LightsNorthern (Edinburgh) Lights
Northern (Edinburgh) Lights

I love the colours of the lighting!
View of the CastleView of the Castle
View of the Castle

From Princess Gardens, Edinburgh
Walter ScottWalter Scott
Walter Scott

A Scottish Writer who has a monument dedicated to him!
A Side StreetA Side Street
A Side Street

In Edinburgh
Robert BurnsRobert Burns
Robert Burns

The sign tells it all! In Inveraray
Hume in the dark!Hume in the dark!
Hume in the dark!

The Royal Mile, Edinburgh
Writers MuseumWriters Museum
Writers Museum

The Royal Mile, Edinburgh
Bobby's WorldBobby's World
Bobby's World

Edinburgh


Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 24; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb