Thursday reflections....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My last night in Edinburgh for a bit.....the next 3 weeks are a runaround between here, England and hopefully Ireland.

My aunt's 50th birthday party is this weekend in Kent, and I'd be silly not to go, being this close. My mum's flying over from Canada which is exciting. Will be nice to spend some time with her, not sure when the next time will be!

I'm at my friends' flat tonight....doing mad laundry (there has been a rumour about bedbugs in a couple of the hostels I've been in), hanging out.....I feel so lucky to have met a group of people so different from myself--that I instantly feel like I've known for eons.

The rest of my time in Kinloch Rannoch was incredible. I won't spoil the upcoming photos by saying anything, but I'm sure now that I've left more than my heart in the highlands. I'm pretty sure my heart itself is still at home in Canada, but for sure my spirit is beside a silvery loch washed in mist and sunsets.

It was hard when I left Scotland last year....I remember being sad for weeks when I got home. Since then, I've been aware of this pull, this need to be back here. It wasn't Edinburgh or any other particular city....but being out far from civilization this past little while has re-affirmed it. THAT'S where I want (need?) to be...that's what I was dreaming of, and missing so much. I don't know what it is about here versus the outdoors at home. When I was in Tobermory this summer, I loved it. It was amazing. Beautiful. ...and it's redundant to say that Scotland is older, there's more history. There is in a manner of speaking, but the land masses and the geographies of each respective country/continent have always existed...it's just been the people and organizations that don't line up.

Perhaps it's the novelty, my own personal or family history that's here...the curiousity. The freedom I can associate with being here, because it's always been a reward, something worked for and completely up to me.

However, it doesn't matter. I really do feel like I'm living a dream. There's things I'm knocking off my list every week or sometimes every day. I want to spend my life (and it would probably take that long!) just exploring....

Advertisement



10th October 2008

Freedom in nothingness...
Hey Babe, Just had to say, I know what you're talking about (sort of). I haven't been many places (in the world), but I remember the absolute freedom of picking up every weekend and camping a couple summers ago. To have no obligation but to satisfy your impulses is an incredible thing. To have nothing around you but what's natural and not freakin' billboards everywhere you turn. It made my swamp turn as you described the dream you're living and I'm just so happy for you. Love ya!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb