Day 8: Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 7th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another breakfast of potato scones and strawberry jam, and we went off to see Edinburgh Castle. It was as impressive as I thought it was going to be, but once again it was a shame there was so much traffic, there were people everywhere, making it difficult to see certain parts of the castle. Nonetheless, it was a wonderful experience and I’m glad I’ve finally been inside the castle I’ve read so much about. However, because of all the stories I’ve read, I have a layout in my mind that is entirely different than what it really is. Since I’ve had the opportunity to visit two castles now, one in ruins, one still functioning as a military base, I have to say that I think I enjoyed Urquhart more, because it was a ruin. It transported me back in time in a way that Edinburgh Castle will never be able to do again, because it is simply too commercial.

Despite its romanticized veneer, it was still a great learning experience. The castle is the birthplace of King James VI, amongst many others, the Scottish World War I and II memorial, functioning military base, it is home to a 12th century chapel, St. Margaret’s, which is also the oldest standing building in Edinburgh, it was held for Mary Queen of Scots by Sir William Kirkcaldy from 1568 to 1573, and the extinct volcano on which lies has held some form of fortification for over 3000 years. In 1996 the Stone of Destiny, upon which every Scottish coronation from 300 A.D. to 1300 occurred, was returned from England where it had lain in Westminster Abbey for almost 700 years and also used for coronations, now lies in the Royal Chambers of Edinburgh Castle. Beside the stone are the Crown Jewels, otherwise known as the Honours of Scotland, gifted to Scotland by Pope Innocent. The Honours have a had an adventurous history, having spent the last 1000 years in and out of hiding, to protect from both England, and the World Wars.
At one O’clock, on the dot, Robert and I, as well as the rest of the visitors, witnessed the daily one O’clock firing of the gun. Originally a maritime tradition for the sailors to set their watches by, it is now strictly in fun. Despite knowing it was coming, every single person on the castle courtyard jumped upon its fire.
By 2, we were on the train headed for Newcastle, and as yet have not seen much but rain. Tomorrow we’ll be seeing the old Roman Wall and more castles!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb