A trip to Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
December 31st 2007
Published: April 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is all about my little trip to Edinburgh for Christmas, to visit my darling brother. I couldn't wait to see him, so the 8 hour train journey up north was a particularly long one. But meeting up at the train station was a great feeling and then we walked back to his place, chattering non-stop.

Scotland was of course even colder than where I had started from in Southampton, and I really was finding it cold. I think my body had really got comfortable in the tropical climate of Fiji over the last year and was refusing to adjust properly to ice and snow. Sadly mainly ice, as it did not snow a lot while we were in Edinburgh. It was such a dramatic change from Fiji, I could hardly believe where I was and how bloody cold it was.

Anyway, enough of that. The main thing was that we met up with my Bro and spent the days getting up to good old family fun with him and Mum and Dad. A walk up the nearby hill, majestically called Arthur's Throne, a stroll around Edinburgh to the "other" Parthenon, a train ride to North Berwick beach (beautiful but oh so uncomparable water-temperature-wise to a Fiji beach), visiting the engineering feat of the Falkirk Wheel, exploring medieval Scottish castles and not forgeting crosswords over breakfast in the morning and fights over scrabble in the evening - er, just joking on that last one. They weren't really fights, honest.

How time flies when you are having fun. Edinburgh is a beautiful city with lots interesting places to visit nearby. Did I also mention eating lots of chocolate and various other good food that one can definitely not find in the Pacific? I think I must have eaten enough cheese for a couple of months. A lot of fun was also had on my brother's various video game consoles, mainly playing Guitar Hero. And of course, there was Christmas and opening all the presents - my favourite! Couldn't have wished for a better Christmas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Scottish CastleScottish Castle
Scottish Castle

We couldn't visit Scotalnd without visiting a castle!
The Falkirk WheelThe Falkirk Wheel
The Falkirk Wheel

It goes round and round
My FamilyMy Family
My Family

Love you!


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 83; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb