Clo does Europe - Part 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 24th 2008
Published: May 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 5

Edinburgh, Scotland

So I figure out once I got here how close I was to Scotland. I decided to take a day trip to the land of Kilts and Whiskey.

The train ride there was lovely. Lots and lots of Rapeseed fields.

Fun Fact: The Northern part of England has endless fields of Rapeseed which in bloom are a stricking yellow. I was very excited about these crops until after researching a little realized that Canada was the no 2 producer in the world, after China. Rapeseed is grown for the production of animal feed, vegetable oil for human consumption, and biodiesel.

Edinburgh is GEORGEOUS. Its ancient but hip. It was packed with tourists and I wasn't even there during tourist season. I started off by hiking Salisbury Crags, a path on a small mountain in Holyrood Park, a royal park in central Edinburgh and was treated to a high top view of Edinburgh. It was soooo amazing. This was the first time since I got here where I really really felt like I was in Europe. I left the Holyrood Park area and walked around the University of Edinburgh area. Cool shops, fun restaurants. I stopped by the National Museum of Scotland and ended up on a randomly on a religious tour of the museum. Saints and Sinners was long a boring but I was on it with 10 people over 50 and 1 young good looking Australian dude. He ended up being my source of motivation for this task. I also stopped by the special exhibition Extreme - Life in Subarctic Canada. Somehow, the Scots figured out a connexion between Tlicho (subarctic people) and their people. Didnt expect something on Canada in a Scottish Museum.

Stereotypical observation: 2 scots wearing kilts were playing the bagpipe in the Middle of the City. How shocking. I was only able to deal with 30 seconds of this noise and turned around to leave.

I finished my day with a visit of Edinburgh Castle. Well I didnt actually visit the inside of it because they were asking 12£ (24$) to walk around an old building. Its as worse as paying 40cents to pee in a toilet.
So I admired from every outside angle and was very satisfied. I then treated myself to a bottle of wine in a little bistro with a view of the castle before making my way back to Durham.
Edinburgh I have to admit really gave me my first taste of Europe. I will go back someday to explore somemore.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb