A not-quite-highland fling


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 8th 2008
Published: May 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

StatuesqueStatuesqueStatuesque

Don't know who this guy was, but the bird seems important.
It is a beautiful day in Edinburgh. Everybody is in the parks as though the first summer sun has slapped the city awake. And I can't get enough of the Scottish accents which roll about like fog off the firth.

I came up by overnight bus, through the mist, to be spat out somewhere in the middle of town dishevelled and disoriented. So I caught a taxi to my hostel, a groovy little number in a converted church, where old junk is stacked on the balcony inside the stained glass window, and the crypt has been made into a bar.

Then I spent the morning wandering with no travel guide, no map, and even less of a sense of direction. Meandered through cobbled streets, past grey houses with turrets, and eventually down the Royal Mile to the parliament and beyond. Ah, beyond. I'm now itching to go further beyond and do some hiking after climbing up Arthur's Seat. There I found bright yellow flowers, tantalising climbing cliffs, sunbakers taking off their gear in odd places, and students reciting Shakespeare. And, of course, the view to beyond.

I am in love. Who knows, maybe my fling with this city
First rays of summerFirst rays of summerFirst rays of summer

Sunbakers on Salisbury Crags.
will turn into something more permanent. Speaking of jobs, the poster of the Edinburgh Evening News today was a beauty. It was, roughly: Couples play park sex show.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb