Trainspotting spotting


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Most people know the movie Trainspotting. Sort of a cult movie. Not a great one in my opinion, but one to have and share opinions about. And it’s one of the more famous movies set in Scotland. The setting is Edinburgh to be more specific, where I spend my weekend. Since it’s far from my favorite flick, I think nothing of it until the topic of movies comes up. There are quite a few large media stores in the city, each with a wide selection of DVD’s. My friend isn’t familiar with the movie, so I figure I should just be able to walk into any given store and just pick one from the shelf. Think again.

Despite it being a tourist city with the major stores where tourists cannot possibly miss them, I can’t find the movie in the shelves for top selling DVD’s. Fair enough, it’s quite an old one. I try among all the other movies sorted in alphabetical order. Lot’s of Training Day and Transporter, but no Trainspotting. Fair enough, one store might be out of it. Go into the next store. Same thing. And a third large store. No Trainspotting. Granted, I don’t ask for it, because that would be just too tacky. Like asking if they have Coke in Atlanta or Heineken in Amsterdam and then not buy it. Maybe it’s a conscious choice and agreement between the stores not to carry this glorification of drugs and destructive lives in a such a beautiful spot as Edinburgh. Maybe they’re just out of it. Or maybe there are just better movies.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.369s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb