I never thought I'd see the sun again


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
October 25th 2005
Published: October 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So we had our first turn of really hard rain this weekend -- it actually rained all the way from Friday to Monday. Really rained -- cold, dark, grey, wet...that's pretty much characterized the city over the past 4 days. Its a good thing, then, that I spent most of the weekend inside doing work, work, work and more work. But I woke up this morning to see the SUN. I never thought I'd see it again. Now, we just have to look out for chance of showers over the next few days. Other than that, its beautiful and happy and gorgeous. :-) I love it.

Which brings me to this morning's point. One of the things I love about this city is how much care they take in keeping it beautiful. On my way out the door this morning, I walked past a whole fleet of landscapers working in the Prince's Street Gardens, sweeping the streets clear of leaves, raking up debris from the rain, making everything look nice and beautiful. Now, I have to bear in mind the fact that Central Park is about a hundred times bigger than Prince's Street Gardens, but its still impressive that they are right there cleaning up as soon as the rain stops.

I think we are already getting into the stage, however, where the sun starts to go away for reasons other than the cloud cover. We are losing about 6 minutes of sunlight every day...and its going to get worse. Already, when I wake up at 7AM, it is totally dark. We don't see the first peak of the sun until we are in the middle of our breakfast at 7:30. In the dead of winter, the sun aparently does not come up until 9:30 -- and it goes down at 4...hmmm...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb