Family Update Letter 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 14th 2007
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

Just dropping another quick note to let everyone know what’s going on.

Met with my department today. Apparently my head advisor is on research leave this semester. I have yet to find out exactly what that means for me, but hopefully I’ll be able to work with the other lady who is there. I honestly don’t understand why I got an advisor who is on leave my first semester. It kind of angers me, since I’m all gung-ho to get this over and done with. I’ll find out more on Tuesday, I hope.

Then I’m signed up in two classes. I have to take Research and Methods, which is an all week lecture next week, but then just one meeting a month and a project due in December. It was supposed to be only for MSc students, but apparently I have to take it as well. This is not a good thing, since I have to wait for the cable guys from 8AM-1PM on Tuesday, which is also the day of my first lecture, which is at 12:30. I called my cable contact to try to ensure that they come out at 8AM immediately, but I haven’t heard back from him and I’m still low on minutes.

Also on Tuesday, which was JUST sprung on me this morning, I’m supposed to see a movie for Theory class in the evening at 10AM. I’m familiar with the movie, so I’m maybe going to see if I can watch it before the class, or, since we’re not talking about it on lecture 1, before Wednesday through the film lab. They seem really unorganized. They don’t even know what classes are going to be officially offered. They’re working it out, though.

I met the other girl who is a new PhD student, but I don’t know if we really click. I think we’ll simply be colleagues, but not close friends or anything. She’s a bit too into herself and is too busy trying to schmooze with all the professors. She isn’t even ready to start her research. I have a feeling my dissertation research won’t take me very long at all, because I have a huge chunk of it done with my Master’s. BUT I will be allowed to not only use the Main Library here for Research, but I’ll also be able to use the Divinity Library (the theology department library). I’m excited about that.

I intend to join the Film Society here, for 15pounds a year. I get to watch free movies and write reviews in their journal. Also, there’s a Post-Graduate publication called The Forum that I will be finding out more information about tonight and will be hoping to get involved in that. On top of this, I will be talking to one of the supervisors about running an informal “lecture” series on documentary film for the other post-graduates. Informal meaning no papers and it’ll be more of a round-table discussion and watching of movies. Kind of like what I did at the church for my film series on Subversive Redemption.

The department is very flexible with allowing students to organize things. We can even try to organize a graduate conference if we want. The other new PhD girl didn’t sound too interested in those things and, like I said, was more interested in schmoozing and talking about her film editing skills and how people don’t understand her love of academics and filmmaking. I just don’t think her and I click very well.

But I intend to take full advantage of many of the opportunities available to me, especially to help build up to CVS (resume). Tomorrow I’m heading to Loch Lommond (check www.wikipedia.org for more information). By Tuesday I should have pictures to upload in the evening.

I love you all so much and when I get my new phone number I’ll let you know so you can all call me! If I don’t have your new addresses (Donna, Rachel) please e-mail them to me so I can send you postcards and things. And PLEASE if you have a Circle Journal with me, please send it to me. I would love to work on one before my semester gets hectic.

Much love and hugs,
SKB


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb