St. Andrews!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 15th 2005
Published: September 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Okay, sorry for the weirdness on the posts. The internet has been iffy, and as Judy will attest, Travelblog had some issues as well.

Too tired to post too many thoughts, but I wanted to show theses pictures. Particularly the first one. I'm standing on the freaking Swilkin Bridge!! I can die now. Jack Nicklaus stood on this bridge exactly two months ago in his farewell to to playing in the majors!!

Loved the train ride up to St. Andrews. Loved the pubs there so much I missed the 4:20pm and 5:40pm trains back to Edinburgh... But, it did give me a chance to explore University of St. Andrews, where the future King of England just graduated last Spring.

Riding the train through Fife was gorgeous. I wanted to jump out at each small village we at which we stopped. It just made me want to belt out a tune from Brigadoon - except I'm no Gene Kelly. And, wasn't Cyd Charisse fabulous in that movie...???

Scotland is incredible. The steak and Guiness pie at Clever Dick's in Rose Street in Edinburgh is the closest thing I have ever had to nirvana (legally at least) in my
Inside Edinburgh Castle Inside Edinburgh Castle Inside Edinburgh Castle

looking down the Royal Mile.
life.

Finally, before I go for the night, YES, I know I owe details of the past few days. I promise to do that soon. Amazingly, time flies when you're on your own.

The final picture is a marker in Edinburgh Castle referencing a gentleman named Skinner. That was my mother's maiden name and her ancestry was very Scottish. Her great grandfather stood next to Francis Scott Key as he jotted a quick poem on the back of a letter he had in his pocket whilst standing on a ship in Baltimore harbor.

Don't know if this gent is related, but I thought my sisters would enjoy.

YES, I will get caught up tomorrow.

But, how cool is that Swilkin Bridge picture??????????!!!!!!!!!

-g


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The CaleyThe Caley
The Caley

Also known as the Caledonian Hilton. Sits at the foot of Edinburgh Castle. 1800's Rail Station turned into a hotel. It's the red brick building...
For Jane HeldFor Jane Held
For Jane Held

in the heart of St. Andrews.
The Royal MileThe Royal Mile
The Royal Mile

falling down from Edinburgh Castle. The Firth of Forth in the distance.


15th September 2005

Excellent photos!
If you like, I can photoshop Jack Nicklaus onto the bridge with you!
16th September 2005

Swilkin Bridge Pic Very Cool
No other words necessary
16th September 2005

The Memories
Got a picture on the same bridge. Coming up 18th with my best friends from Asheville. Couldn't get any better. I am so envious. Agree with Kevin that we are living through your experiences. Cubs are toast. Astros hanging on. I expect great stories from both you and Kevin when you get to Bankok. 11:30 cst. Becoming the norm rather than the exception. Crazy. Take care.
16th September 2005

Nice picture on the bridge...but where are your clubs? And what did you shoot?
16th September 2005

Very cool pictures at St. Andrews! Cubs won again today against the Cards! Have beat the Cards 9 times this year, so far! Going to the game tomorrow! Keep up the writings, we all love every one! Jimmy was even telling someone in our car pool about Uncle Gary in Scotland! Love ya!
20th September 2005

Get that guy on the Bridge!!
The only thing better than that picture would be to see the police, in those funny tall hats with their clubs drawn, running up in the background to chase you off!! Great stuff Gary. Oh, I've seen some of your destinations but, is NJ on the agenda??

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb