Maybe I'm Scottish!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 14th 2005
Published: September 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well I arrived in Glasgow yesterday. I had to catch the train into Edinburgh... but I decided to first see Glasgow. I walked around for a while... its quite industrial. Of course I ventured into a local pub...
... ended up meeting this guy Steven... real friendly fella. Anyway he started talking to me about some Scottish history, some stuff about Bill Gates, and George Bush... and I just kept listening. He told me about some great local bands and to go visit The River Clyde (which I did). Before I left he did something that was really nice... and it really left with me a lasting impression. He went to the bar and exchanged one british pound for a scottish pound (made by the bank of scotland). Apparently they are hard to come by. Anyways... he gave it to me and told me not to spend it. He said that there used to be 4 banks in Scotland that produced money... now maybe only 3. He said here they are worth just as much as the british pound... but other places will question their value... and a while ago in France, it was actually worth more than the british pound. Anyway... I bought a piece of gum with it (just kidding its in the secret compartment in my wallet).
Edinburgh is awesome. So pretty... so much history. Nice people, good looking girls. And most of the city is compacted so its easy to walk around and see everything. I've got to go now.... but I will add more with pictures later.... I really like Edinburgh...

Peace,

Serkan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.567s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.4839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb