meh meh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 27th 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

I have no excuse for not blogging this weekend. I was a bit ill, mostly just run down from all the work and company S and I have had this month, and so left work early Friday and then sat around almost all weekend.

I am feeling better now, just tired still. I think I just needed a little time to do nothing and relax. However, I am now more behind on housework than is reasonable. But Simon and I are going to his parent’s house next weekend so I can imagine that it will not get done this week either. We are too lazy to clean during the week (mostly because Simon works as a cleaner so its not fair to make him come home and do it, and I don’t like to do housework when Simon and I can be cooking a far-nicer-than-we-can-really-afford dinner together).

Not much happening here. I have been very lazy about looking for a job so far, but I think its because I can’t decide if commuting is financially viable. Its very expensive to get a Edinburgh bus pass, a train pass, and a Glasgow bus pass. Not to mention the time I would spend commuting daily. But on the other hand, as long as I had enough money left for bills, rent etc. then maybe I should just do it as its better for my career to start now than wait until we can move next summer. But if I wait then we can move to the best job I can get, rather than just moving to Glasgow because I already work there. In the meantime I am going to add a little to me reel using my fancy new computer and send it around Edinburgh though from what I can suss out no one is hiring.

Other than that the biggest news is that the weather is much better. I don’t know if you guys heard about all the flooding down south. We didn’t have anything that bad here but it was very rainy in June, slightly less rainy but colder in July and August culminating in last Saturday, the Saturday from hell. It was very rainy, but I had to pick up a parcel with our modem and cable box in it from the package depot last weekend. They only deliver Mon-Fri and I couldn’t change the delivery address to my office as they will only ship to the address to which the services are being delivered. So I had to take a bus out to Sighthill (an industrial suburb) to go to this place. The bus took about 45 minutes and then dropped me off on the side of a motorway (basically think of the ten once its outside the city). Due to the bus driver’s extreme concern over my foreign-ness (I asked if it was the bus to sighthill when I got on) He actually pointed me out to the new bus driver when they changed so that he could tell me which stop was mine. But I didn’t need help knowing which stop it was, but where to go once I was off the bus. The depot is in an ‘industrial estate’ so I had to take a pedestrian subway under the freeway and then walk all over in between big warehouses and some foreign car garages until I saw a big sign for the royal mail, so I being an idiot, think this must be it and walk all the way down this hill/road with no sidewalk to the royal mail office just to see a piece of paper tapped to the door saying ‘this is not the parcel force depot’ and a black and white map that basically pointed up the hill. So I trudged back (it is pissing down rain this whole time) and then get to the top and it is just more foreign mechanics so I start to walk along the road where I would have gone if I hadn’t detoured to royal mail, and see a little booth for the royal mail car park with a man in it. So I go and ask him where it is and he gave me good directions (though it was another 10 minutes walk). So I get there about 20 minutes before the depot closes after walking around for upwards of half an hour since getting off the bus. I get my large box, though it isn’t that heavy (mostly packaging) and ask how to get back to the bus stop. I am giving some much better directions and head back into the storm. I get about half way between the depot and the street that leads to the street the bus stop is on and the top comes off the box I am carrying as the rain has soaked through the cardboard and it is coming apart at the seams. So now I am also trying to keep rain off of the electrical items in the box. I get to the road that will take me to the main road and I see a bus coming down it. There are many buses so I just keep walking to where my bus will be when I notices that the bus passing me also stops near our flat, in fact at the same bus stop as the one I am going to take. So I cross the street to a bus stop right there and can get a bus home. I will have to wait as I have just seen it go by, but waiting in the bus shelter, out of the rain is better than continuing on to the further stop on the side of the highway. When the bus came it was coming from the airport and everyone seemed very surprised that there was a soaking wet girl with the remains of a cardboard box at the bus stop in the middle of an industrial park. So that was my adventure. V boring, and v rainy.

But now we have had a few warm days and I got to sit in the sun for a little bit on Saturday having a glass of wine. We went over to a friend’s house to watch TV and he had to get his wages from the pub he works at, which used to be our local when we lived in New Town, so we went a little before his wages were ready to have a drink and play wii. But the wii was broken so we went to sit in the sun (there didn’t happen to be anyone smoking on the little smoking porch so it was v nice).

I hope that you are all enjoying the oven that is LA/Oklahoma/Kansas.

That’s all for today.

Claire


Advertisement



28th August 2007

Well, i am glad that you are feeling better and that you got to rest a bit! Dont worry, i will totally help with the housework when i am out there, to earn my keep you know? I am just so excited! I wish i could help with the job dilema, but i couldnt tell you. it might be nice to know exactly where to move for you job if you already had it and it could give you more time to look for a flat close by, but commuting would be no fun at all. If you wait til you move you might end up further from your new job and having to commute within the city. but, eh, what do i know? LOVE YOU BOTH!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb