Karaoke


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
March 23rd 2007
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night I completely bombed “I Get a Kick Out of You” on Karaoke. It was so bad the audience was in complete dismay over how to react to my performance. Well, at first they all stood there waiting for a sign on how to react, so I told them I knew it was going terribly and tried to make it funny by dancing. Then most of them just sang along with me and laughed, but these 2 guys who were talking to me before my fiasco sat there stunned contemplating how to console me when I return. It was absolutely ridiculous; after the song I apologized for subjecting everyone to it. Everyone in the bar applauded and told me it was awesome (I think they enjoyed the spectacle) except the 2 guys who were sitting next to me. When I got back to my seat one guy said, “it’s ok”, like I was emotionally scarred or something. I said “oh no, I’m fine, I kind of want to sing another.” To which he replied, “no, you don’t want to do that.” In hindsight I should have slapped him for trying to play the protective “I know what’s best for you” roll, but I just ignored it. I think next time some guy tries to tell me what’s best for me I will say, “Oh, thank you…I was worried I would have to go through life making my own decision, but now that I’ve met you, I no longer have that huge burden and responsibility.”

Today I took a train to Glasgow, and spent the day walking around the city. It was a nice change of scenery, but I like Edinburgh better.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb