MIDTERM TRIP - day 3, Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
October 24th 2006
Published: December 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post





I didn't have any field study trips this day.

I spent most of the day shopping and exploring the city.








I went to the Museum of Childhood and looked around there for a while.

It was mostly just a bunch of toys and games from different periods of history.

Random postcards i got:




My favorite part was a display of dolls from different areas of the world, especially the ones from African tribes made out of rags or wood, and the Native American corn husk dolls. It's interesting to see what materials they use to make them.




Later we saw the Edinburgh Dungeon. This was more like what I expected the ghost tour to be. There's actors that dress up and try to scare you, and they tell you scary stories and you walk / ride through scary scenery and whatnot. I was not impressed. It totally wasn't worth the price or the million years we had to stand in line before going in. There's one in London too (the London Dungeon), but I've never seen it so I don't know how it compares. They also have them in York, Hamburg, and Amsterdam. They incorporate the local history though, which is good.












Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb