My flight and first night in Glasgow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow » West End
September 3rd 2011
Published: September 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to Glasgow! The journey here was a good one. With a final co-family dinner in Boston's North End, Lauren and I were wished luck and given some last hugs from the grievous parents. Don't worry, Ma! I'll be home before Christmas!

But now, it's off to the U.K.!

American Airlines provided a decent flight to London's Heathrow. We took off right at 11 pm, the TV-style dinner was stomachable and the in-flight movie, Win Win with Paul Giamatti and Jeffery Tambor, was not terrible. Watching the the sun rise from above the clouds was a beautiful experience, and just as the blazing orange sky was turning into the day's brilliant blue, we were landing in London. In an effort to make the flight to Glasgow, leaving only an hour and a half from our landing time, we bustled through customs, attained student visa status with no trouble, and sprinted to luggage claim. After waiting for almost an hour there, feeling despondent and dreading our luggage may have been lost, a friendly fellow Bostonian looked at our luggage receipt and noticed that our bags would meet us in Glasgow, not London! All that rushing and we missed the next flight, for nothing!

Well, not for nothing. After explaining our situation to the customer service desk, the extremely hospitable attendant allowed us to grab the next flight with no extra charge. For now, we could relax, grab a bite to eat, and experience our first legally-purchased pint! Lauren and I split delicious potato skins and and cajun wings from an eco-conscious restaurant Giraffe, and I tasted my first cold pint of Red Stripe (a very popular commercial lager in the UK). This was already turning out to be a fantastic venture.

Waiting for the 2:15, excuse me, the 14:15 flight to Glasgow, I gathered my first impression of the Scotch. Tall, gentle, and very polite people started to sit in the chairs around me, talking on the phone with pleasant and polished Scottish accents to family members or business associates waiting for them on the other side of this short plane ride. I was buzzing with excitement; I could tell that I had chosen the right city to study English Literature in.

Landing in my new home is an experience I will always remember. Breaking back down through the heavy overcast sky, as far as my eyes could see there were stretches of deep green hills, spotted with neatly organized buildings, and long narrow roads with little automobiles cruising smoothly across the misty landscape. What a beautiful country! This was not like England. Landing in Heathrow, the metropolis of London seemed to stretch on infinitely in all directions. Here, there was plenty of room for my nature-loving soul to fly around in.

After a swift taxi ride to the University's Cairncross House (emphasis on the swift!) Lauren and I checked in with ease and settled nicely into our respective rooms. We then headed down Kelvinhaugh Street to The 78, the local pub. The atmosphere's cozy, wooden floors with a big fire place at one end with couches and tables to sit and chat around; what was even more enticing was the menu- "Burger and a Pint 5.50". We both ordered one right away. The house beer was delicious a delicious Williams lager that goes down smooth and has a little bite to it. What was disappointing was our next realization. The 78 serves strictly vegan food! My first veggie burger was certainly palatable, though I don't know if I'll be a frequent visitor of The 78.

After our meal we took a quick stroll down to the University's campus. What a beautiful school! It was a top candidate for the filming of the Harry Potter films, and with great reason. The buildings are all brilliant Renaissance style castles that reach far into the sky. Now more than ever I became excited to be a student abroad in this beautiful and vibrant city. This journey is sure to hold a distinct memory every day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb