Back in Glasgow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow » West End
January 18th 2009
Published: January 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

So I go back to Glasgow a week ago after spending about a month in Canada for the Christmas break. It was good to be home but I guess it's back to work for me.

The trip back wasn't too bad except that Heathrow was covered in a nice layer of fog that made taking off impossible, so I was stuck there for an extra two hours making my entire layover 6 hours long. It could have been worse though at least I had an essay to write, one due the Monday after I got back, and all the stuff I needed to do it. My one complaint about Heathrow is that they don't have free wifi. There's plenty of pay wifi, and I ended up caving after I found out about the delay, but it's a bit ridiculous to have to pay 6GBP an hour for internet when Vancouver has free wifi. Hell even LAX has free wifi and I'm pretty sure that that's the worst airport in the world!

Glasgow itself is cold and grey as usual but at least I'm not waist deep in snow here (though it did snow this morning but it was gone by lunch time).

New classes started last week and they've been fairly interesting and I think it will be a good semester. For those wondering, and I'm sure that's all of you, I'm taking courses on Aid and Development, Internet and Civil Society, and International Security and Global Politics. I already know a couple people in each class, which is always nice and they seem like they should be entertaining.

Anyways one more essay to go before the first semester's classes are officially over so I should get to that.

Cheers,
Nate

Advertisement



Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.2537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb