Thanksgiving


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
October 18th 2013
Published: October 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello again, it’s been a while.



So, what have you missed you ask? Well, lemme tell you.



My health is much the same; I’m beginning to accept my cough as a permanent part of me.



I wrote a book (not really) called How to Shorten Your Life by Ten Years in Less Than Two Days: A Guide For Young Adults; I wrote 4000 words in 30 hours. Never. Ever. Ever. Again.



Seriously guys, don’t ever leave two major papers until the last minute if you value your youth.



I completed these by Thanksgiving and I’ve been walking on air since then.



Speaking of Thanksgiving, my totally awesome and lovely friends knew A. how stressed I was and B. how bummed I was to be missing Thanksgiving and they decided to cheer me up by getting me a turkey and some cake. They couldn’t find a turkey so they got a turkey hat. Why a turkey hat was easier to acquire than an actual turkey is one of the deeper mysteries of the world. But they did get me a cake and it was one of the loveliest things anyone has ever done for me.



So that was Monday, and on Tuesday a bunch of us went out to a pub. This was thrilling to me because it was the first time I’d properly gone out since I began research for both my papers and it felt like I hadn’t been out in years. Anyway, during the course of the evening, I found out that one of my friends here is friends with a friend of mine back home; he went to elementary with her while I went to high school with her. That’s so awesome! Like, teeny, tiny world, right?! So cool.



After the pub, a smaller group of us went out to a bar called Brew Dog that served nothing but weird beer. Since I don’t like or drink beer, I just went because I didn’t want to go home yet, the freedom of not doing essays was intoxicating enough for me. However, I did try a sip of a beer called ‘Tea for Punks’, which reaffirmed just how much I dislike beer.



During this section of our exploits, a friend of mine
My "Happy Canadian Thanksgiving" cake from my friendsMy "Happy Canadian Thanksgiving" cake from my friendsMy "Happy Canadian Thanksgiving" cake from my friends

I was so touched I thought I was going to cry.
started going on about how he and his friends went on a trip to wherever it is they made port and drank different types of port for a week. And then he announced that he really wanted a cigar. He’s obnoxiously posh, but he’s my friend and he’s great.



But seriously, what self-respecting teen spends a week drinking port. Honestly.



Anyway, Wednesday was spent watching movies. We watched Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, which was good fun, and 21 Jump Street before watching Firefly (as I am wont to do). Tonight was much of the same, although we added the very rare and difficult to find addition of proper, salted popcorn (I was beyond thrilled).



And so concludes a week in the life of me. It’s not really all that exciting, but it serves to remind me that I am exactly where I want to be. I can’t imagine having this much fun anywhere else. I am so grateful for this experience, for my friends, and for the sheer amount of awesome that exists in the world.





Side note: At what point does a peanut stop being a peanut? Please leave a comment with your response and I’ll give you context for this question when I am less tired.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb