The Highlands Concluded


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Argyll » Oban
April 4th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Part 3: Oban



My final stop on this Highland adventure was Oban but due to timing and traveling, I only ended up spending about half a day there. I arrived by bus in Oban around 8:00 pm on Thursday and, having had a long conversation with one of the ladies who was waiting for the bus with me in Fort William, I knew exactly where my hostel was and headed straight for it.

The next morning, I woke up early so that I could do some exploring before having to catch the train back to Glasgow at 12:00. When I first went out, it was raining: probably the worst weather I've had the entire trip, excluding the cold and some rain on Thursday, but as I spent most of that day traveling, it didn't bother me so much. First, I decided to find the McCaig's Tower, as it was on the list of things to do in Oban that I had found in my hostel. Luckily, there were signs all over the city and, sitting on a small hill, it was hard to miss. McCaig's Tower is reminiscent of the Colosseum and envisioned by John Stuart McCaig, though it was never finished. It dates from the Victorian times.

McCaig's Tower

Next, I went walking along the coast and past the Dunollie Castle, though I didn't go in. After a while, I decided to head back to the hostel and on the way, I found a small herd of sheep, climbed up by the stone fence, and took a few pictures. As my host mother pointed out: American students are fascinated with sheep, and I can't pass by sheep without trying to take a picture.

Back at the hostel, I checked out and continued to explore the city, as it was still only 10:00 in the morning and I had two more hours in Oban left. Mostly, I walked around the shops in search of cute, Highland souvenirs. Eventually, I made it to the train station, boarded my train and got to Glasgow without any problems. Once in Glasgow, I took a bus back to Edinburgh and spent the rest of the evening resting and packing for my next trip: London and Munich.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

SheepSheep
Sheep

I found my sheep but no highland cows on this trip.


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb