Working girl


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Argyll » Oban
June 12th 2007
Published: January 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So here I am to explain my hopping around for the past month. I've been searching for quite awhile and there are a lot of jobs but it takes a good detective to sift through all the people trying to take advantage. I did a trial at the Ardanaisieg Hotel on Loch Awe that only lasted 3 days.... It's an absolutely amazing place (I posted all the pics) but not taking care of their staff. I did still work hard and enjoyed meeting the staff, but was shrugged off when I explained I wouldn't be staying. Accused of not giving any notice and ignored until I left - without paying me at all I might add. I should warn others from getting sucked into this hotel, they are actually breaking the law trying to pay wages under minimum and stepping around the issue with avoidance.
Then I started work at a local hotel in Inverary called the George, which I love. Great place to work, busy all the time and friendly organized chaos. Unfortuately there was no staff housing available at the time and I couldn't stay on the couch anymore, so onto another place.
Which brings me to the Pierhouse hotel in Port Appin north of Oban, also a really nice place. Very quaint and similar to the Bellachroy actually. I've only been here a few days but the staff housing in nice and even though the running of the service end is in serious need of organization, I'm sure I can help sort it out. So unless something very unexpected happens... I'm staying here. I'm very tired of searching for the right place to work. You really do need to find the right blend of not being overworked and underpaid, finding a comfortable living environment and a position that doesn't stress you out. Pictures are in the works to show you my new home, I hope everyone is happy and enjoying the summer season creeping up. Take care, losta love


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb