Football, churches and classes


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Aberdeen
October 8th 2006
Published: October 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

Well, it's been some time now since we have written in here, so I thought after this weekend we might have a bit more to say.

Well things are finally "up and running". I (Leigh) have fully registered for my classes and have started them, and the wonderful overload of readings. Justin is in the middle of his induction and begins his classes soon as well.

Justin has also pretty well finalized his plans for his MRes thesis...so if you are wondering his choice of topic and experiment plans you can ask him about that. I won't attempt to explain it here....because I probably don't know all of the plans and ideas, but it seems quite interesting and beneficial research!

We are fitting in quite well here, making some friends, colleagues and feeling more confortable in our surroundings every day. We are also getting to know the campus and Aberdeen a lot better and venturing out a little more when we have the time.

Now that our class schedules are set, we are starting to try to organize extra-curricular activities. Justin has successfully been coaxed into joining the regular friday evening football (soccer) group, made up of mainly people in his health psych program. I think he even surprised himself with his ability to play well, especially when we brings out his hockey skills in goal! So that is something new and exciting for him and also quite enjoyable for me to watch, since I have not really seen many soccer games, live or on tv.

I on the other hand am still looking into what sort of extra curricular activity I want to get involved in, but I will have to wait at least a week or so now, due to injury, which I will get into in a minute.

We have ventured out into the nightlife here. We wanted to wait a couple weeks to let the Freshers (frosh) students get their partying out of their system, as we didn't want our first impressions of the pub scene to be about a large number of 18 yr olds running around and puking everywhere.

So we ventured out friday night with some of Justin's psych possé, to "Slains Castle". It was quite a grandiose looking pub, not what we are used to seeing back in Canada, especially because this pub used to be a church, so it has some very beautiful architecture and wooden accents. One new thing for us was the bathrooms in this pub. The upstairs bathroom was Unisex and the ones down stairs were not....but the doors to the separate bathrooms were hidden in the book case wall......very cool! A lot of thought and pride was put into making this pub intersting and it was quite enjoyable! We enjoyed Tennents...which seems to be the cheap beer of choice for students. It has quite a unique taste and not comparable to any beer we have had in Canada. We took turns buying rounds, which was nice and friendly, but also makes it difficult to keep track of how much you have drank....especially because I was trying to keep up with the boys! I did it! Oh I'm so proud...........hahahaha.

Now to my injury, we wrapped up the night, and Justin and I were literally feet from home when I stepped off the sidewalk onto the cobble stone street (which can sometimes be hard to walk on sober!) and I rolled my ankle. YES! That's right,.....my clutzy habits have followed me here! But because I know I'm a clutz I came prepared with a bandage to wrap my foot in and now I continue to hobble around.....

Other than that there is not TOO much excitement....we enjoyed a wonderful home made Dutch meal last night with some friends. I have to say, I am quite a fan of Dutch food now!

We are working hard.......or trying to work hard anyway...to keep up with our already hectic and busy lives. But we persist and always make time to sit back and enjoy the beautiful greenery that is ever so present in Aberdeenshire!

Advertisement



8th October 2006

"BRAVO"
Justin, I'm surprised to see that you are still allowing Leigh (CLUTZ) out at night, but I'm glad that she is keeping up with the boys in the hydraulics competition. Good to see that you have met some new friends and are going out and letting off some steam.
9th October 2006

OOPS !!
Sorry to hear about your oopsy Leigh but these things are bound to happen from time to time, especially when the Daly genes are acting up!! I'm glad to hear that both of you are settling in across the ocean and I look forward to hearing about your future endeavors. Take care you two crazy monkeys...
10th October 2006

Attaboy To Leigh
Well Leigh, it's nice to see that the distance from home hasn't changed you too much. At least it isn't too far to fall, thos Daly genes ya know !!! You guys have fun and have a pint or two for me. I'm in Ottawa tonight, brought Brianne back to Carleton, and will be leaving first thing in the morning. See ya when I see ya .......

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb