Week in Review


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tyler... me... DanTyler... me... DanTyler... me... Dan

Future roommates back in Kansas
Life is back to normal in Ireland. I missed three days of classes vacationing in Spain… which gave me plenty of reading to do once I returned. So I’ve spent the bulk of the past week trying to… believe it or not… study.

I’ve also tried to recoup my financial footing in anticipation of our trip this Thursday to Dublin (through Sunday), and my August post-course traveling.

Speaking of which… my travel plans are basically finalized. Dan and I decided to drop Zurich for timing and cost reasons. So the official schedule is as follows:
(1) Paris, July 30 - Aug. 3;
(2) Brussels, Aug. 3 - Aug. 6;
(3) Amsterdam, Aug. 6 - Aug. 10;
(4) London, Aug. 10 - Aug. 14

It also appears like our London travel plans could be cut short. Dan and I received emails yesterday from our charter travel agency, TNT Vacations, informing us that our August 15 flight from Boston to Kansas City has been CANCELLED. I’ll likely figure out the details on that in the coming days.

However, I am excited that we’ve confirmed all other flights, trains, and hostels for Paris, Brussels, and Amsterdam. Boom goes the dynamite!
One class downOne class downOne class down

and celebrating with good food and drinks


In other news, Yonne from our group celebrated her birthday last Thursday. The entire group split three taxis downtown to Molly Malone’s bar… and eventually made our way to Club Icon. One-word summary of the night: "Beer"

I took my comparative religion exam yesterday morning. “A 16 year-old public high school student refuses a Hepatitis B vaccination required by the Oregon Department of Health because of her religious views. You represent her. What is the claim, anticipated defense(s)… what is the likely outcome? In European countries?” (Paraphrased). One fact pattern and one essay question -- relatively painless.

In celebration of one of three classes complete, Professor Leeds treated the group to dinner last night at the Lodge Restaurant. I ordered the Salmon.

Random thoughts over the past week: (1) I miss driving my car. I hate waiting for buses, walking excessively, and paying too much for taxis. (2) Irish accents are starting to annoy me. Nothing against the people… I’m just saying. (3) I miss eating Chipotle and/or Qdoba… pathetic, I know.

Not too much adventure lately. Sean has done a good job getting out and seeing some of Irish countryside. I've included some of
Professor LeedsProfessor LeedsProfessor Leeds

with Dan-o at the Lodge
his photos below.

Later.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

YonneYonne
Yonne

and Professor Leeds' friend on the left
Cliffs of MoherCliffs of Moher
Cliffs of Moher

Courtesy of Sean
King John's CastleKing John's Castle
King John's Castle

Here in Limerick... built in 1210.
Killary FjordKillary Fjord
Killary Fjord

Ireland's only deep water fjord... located in Leenane.
Kylemore AbbeyKylemore Abbey
Kylemore Abbey

Located in Kylemore... currently run by Benedictine nuns.
PoulnabronePoulnabrone
Poulnabrone

Burial tomb used from 3800 - 3200 B.C.
O'Brien's TowerO'Brien's Tower
O'Brien's Tower

At the Port of Inagh... with the Aran Islands in the background.


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb